Author Topic: Windows 10 RTM  (Read 10087 times)

Offline bravoexo

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 3266
  • PeopleSoft
Re: Windows 10 RTM
« Reply #60 on: August 04, 2015, 01:12:58 AM »
Bug

Nvidia Control Panel -> Confine Start Menu to the middle monitor -> Cool, only the middle monitor has the task bar.
Click the windows button...  start menu appears in the left most monitor...   ARRGHHH  (In Windows7 the start menu pops up in the middle monitor as expected)

Bug

My desktop background keeps changing... I pick one wallpaper... minutes later is a different one...   I'm not running a Theme...but seems Windows keeps running a theme..  I can't even choose which wallpaper folder to use  (Windows 7 you can
choose what folder)

Bug

Login Screen is at 5760x3240 expanded desktop size...   when using triple screens.

Program Bugs

3DMark doesn't run
Nvidia SLI mem leak
Nvidia Surround Setup problems
VRAM incorrect
Keyboards shortcuts gets lost when switching in an out of apps from 1080p mode back to 5760x1080p
Desktop will  sometimes stay in 1080p mode when coming from a 5760x1080p game or vice versa
VirtualDub error (memory leak) as well, when rendering in h.264
Already got a hanging startup screen... (PC just stayed in the blue window logo). 

Anyway, so far so good. 
i7-3770k, GA-Z77X-UP5 TH, Dominator Platinum 16Gb DDR3 1866 C9, GTX ASUS ROG Strix 1080 SLI, Crucial M4 mSATA 256Gb, Crucia MX100-512Gb SSD, Spinpoint F1 1Tb x 2, Barracuda 2Tb Green x 3, LG E2442V x 3, GMX 2.1, HAF-932, M2 850W, MCP355, Apogee GTZ, BlackIce GTX360, G502, AVerMedia LGX, Vantec Dock

Offline goma

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 1966
  • Use only as prescribed..
Re: Windows 10 RTM
« Reply #61 on: August 04, 2015, 06:22:44 PM »
I noticed that you can't switch off bluetooth. At the Action center, the bluetooth button is always on.

I tried to install, uninstall and installed a new version of the Lenovo energy manager. On restart, BSOD, INACCESIBLE_BOOT_DEVICE. I left my Win10 dvd at home so I just did a system restore.

Offline goma

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 1966
  • Use only as prescribed..
Re: Windows 10 RTM
« Reply #62 on: August 05, 2015, 01:43:36 PM »
Fixed the bluetooth issues. You need to update the driver from the device manager

Offline bravoexo

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 3266
  • PeopleSoft
Re: Windows 10 RTM
« Reply #63 on: August 06, 2015, 12:04:59 AM »
Built in Realtek Audio drivers have memory leak too...  AVerMedia's GC550 ' RecCentral 2 just crashes with them.  Fixed I think with the Gigabyte Win10 day 1 drivers...unfortunately, RecCentral2 used to just consume 40-45% CPU when recording in Windows 7.  Now in Windows 10, its a frigging 78%-98%.  Lol...and I was considering getting a NUC to do capture/streaming work of PC games... now its seems I need to buy a Skylake or X99 system.

Also, anyone notice drag and drop not working with some apps?
i7-3770k, GA-Z77X-UP5 TH, Dominator Platinum 16Gb DDR3 1866 C9, GTX ASUS ROG Strix 1080 SLI, Crucial M4 mSATA 256Gb, Crucia MX100-512Gb SSD, Spinpoint F1 1Tb x 2, Barracuda 2Tb Green x 3, LG E2442V x 3, GMX 2.1, HAF-932, M2 850W, MCP355, Apogee GTZ, BlackIce GTX360, G502, AVerMedia LGX, Vantec Dock

Offline splerdu

  • Veterans
  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 7379
Re: Windows 10 RTM
« Reply #64 on: August 06, 2015, 05:09:11 AM »
Why not just stick with 7 until WDM2 drivers are sorted out?
fhtagn

Offline calvin

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 6290
Re: Windows 10 RTM
« Reply #65 on: August 06, 2015, 02:27:49 PM »
In our Dell lappys, Win 10 is a critical update . lol

Offline bravoexo

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 3266
  • PeopleSoft
Re: Windows 10 RTM
« Reply #66 on: August 07, 2015, 03:10:56 AM »
Wierd stuff today

booted up and no USB 3.0 device is being detected... GC550, nope,  Vantec Dock...nope... there's power... device manage says all is well, nothing...  rebooted and it finally worked.

tried to shut down at one point, and it just got stuck in the 'preparing to shutdown' screen for half an hour...  restarted and all was well...

lol, i love this OS... everyday there is a surprise...  like that new patch that I had to manually install...
i7-3770k, GA-Z77X-UP5 TH, Dominator Platinum 16Gb DDR3 1866 C9, GTX ASUS ROG Strix 1080 SLI, Crucial M4 mSATA 256Gb, Crucia MX100-512Gb SSD, Spinpoint F1 1Tb x 2, Barracuda 2Tb Green x 3, LG E2442V x 3, GMX 2.1, HAF-932, M2 850W, MCP355, Apogee GTZ, BlackIce GTX360, G502, AVerMedia LGX, Vantec Dock

Offline motion55

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 921
Re: Windows 10 RTM
« Reply #67 on: August 07, 2015, 09:48:11 AM »
Yes, on my PC, Win 10 get stuck somewhere during power ON or when shutting down. The screen goes black during those times.
"Set your mind free!"

Offline arbee

  • Veterans
  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 906
    • flickr
Re: Windows 10 RTM
« Reply #68 on: August 07, 2015, 09:50:18 PM »
Yes, on my PC, Win 10 get stuck somewhere during power ON or when shutting down. The screen goes black during those times.

i experienced that too.
what is certain in this world is uncertainty...


Offline Sephiroth

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 5930
Re: Windows 10 RTM
« Reply #69 on: August 08, 2015, 07:09:19 AM »
uh, guys, n00b question. how do i lock the screen? it's no longer at shut down like Windows 7. thanks!

Offline Simbadda

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 1916
Re: Windows 10 RTM
« Reply #70 on: August 08, 2015, 08:50:01 AM »
hahaha that cumulative update got me too.  my computer rebooted and I was staring at a black screen for a long time. I thought it hanged and I restarted it again. another black screen, another restart.

after the third boot, the boot screen appeared. lolol
it puzzles me how women seem so fragile but they can hurt men more than they realize it.

i will give you 2000 czech crowns...

Offline Simbadda

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 1916
Re: Windows 10 RTM
« Reply #71 on: August 08, 2015, 09:57:44 AM »
Has anyone with an icloud email account configured it with mail app? I can't configure it properly on my side, even though I have selected the icloud account setup provided by mail.
it puzzles me how women seem so fragile but they can hurt men more than they realize it.

i will give you 2000 czech crowns...

Offline theDUD3

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 2697
Re: Windows 10 RTM
« Reply #72 on: August 08, 2015, 01:44:23 PM »
uh, guys, n00b question. how do i lock the screen? it's no longer at shut down like Windows 7. thanks!

Winkey + L
Ryzen 7 7100 | Fatality ASRock X370 Gaming K4 | 2x8GB Trident Z RGB 3200 | GTX 980 Ti 6GB OC | Samsung 960 Evo 250GB M.2 NVMe + Samsung 850 Evo 250GB SSD  + 6TB HDD | 27" Dell U2713H @ 2560x1440

Offline Sephiroth

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 5930
Re: Windows 10 RTM
« Reply #73 on: August 08, 2015, 07:40:40 PM »
is there a way to out that in a clickable shortcut or remap entirely? i'm using CM Storm Trigger and it doesn't have a winkey. thanks!

Offline theDUD3

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 2697
Re: Windows 10 RTM
« Reply #74 on: August 08, 2015, 08:08:38 PM »
^ I'm not familiar with CM's mapping software, can't your app automatically detect it when your mapping your buttons?
Ryzen 7 7100 | Fatality ASRock X370 Gaming K4 | 2x8GB Trident Z RGB 3200 | GTX 980 Ti 6GB OC | Samsung 960 Evo 250GB M.2 NVMe + Samsung 850 Evo 250GB SSD  + 6TB HDD | 27" Dell U2713H @ 2560x1440

Offline Sephiroth

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 5930
Re: Windows 10 RTM
« Reply #75 on: August 08, 2015, 08:10:53 PM »
i think i can reassign it to windows key using its software, but i find its current use of switching the KB lights on and off useful.

can the  shortcut key be put in a clickable icon?

Offline motion55

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 921
Re: Windows 10 RTM
« Reply #76 on: August 09, 2015, 07:47:32 AM »
Yup. It seems to be busy updating when the screen goes black.

We have the CM Storm trigger on the home desktop. You can use the Trigger app to set the left storm key as Winkey on any of the profile. After setting, you can uninstall the app and the setting will persist on the keyboard. Procedure here:

http://gaming.coolermaster.com/en/support/downloads/114/Global
"Set your mind free!"

Offline bravoexo

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 3266
  • PeopleSoft
Re: Windows 10 RTM
« Reply #77 on: August 09, 2015, 11:03:23 PM »
Fixed my cold boot problems - Disable Fast Boot.
i7-3770k, GA-Z77X-UP5 TH, Dominator Platinum 16Gb DDR3 1866 C9, GTX ASUS ROG Strix 1080 SLI, Crucial M4 mSATA 256Gb, Crucia MX100-512Gb SSD, Spinpoint F1 1Tb x 2, Barracuda 2Tb Green x 3, LG E2442V x 3, GMX 2.1, HAF-932, M2 850W, MCP355, Apogee GTZ, BlackIce GTX360, G502, AVerMedia LGX, Vantec Dock

Offline Louie

  • Administrator
  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 8868
  • Every end is a new beginning
    • PinoyPC
Re: Windows 10 RTM
« Reply #78 on: August 10, 2015, 11:48:01 AM »
Just updated my desktop to Windows 10 this morning. Will try it out tonight.

Offline Simbadda

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 1916
Re: Windows 10 RTM
« Reply #79 on: August 10, 2015, 03:24:32 PM »
I am now trying to use edge as my main browser, imported my bookmarks from firefox.

I am using adguard for ad control.  although I miss some extensions like colorfultabs.

it puzzles me how women seem so fragile but they can hurt men more than they realize it.

i will give you 2000 czech crowns...