Author Topic: Gigabyte DS3 and Conroe 6400, Excellent Combo  (Read 5140 times)

Offline aeroes

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 238
Gigabyte DS3 and Conroe 6400, Excellent Combo
« on: September 12, 2006, 12:59:31 PM »
I don't know much about overclocking but I played with it anyway with this combo for a few days and so far, I think Im doing ok knowing the fact that I almost hit the DS3 FSB wall. I clocked it to 440FSB easily (3520MHz) without problems. I've tried 450fsb but unstable, it gets me through windows but sometimes it reboots by itself.

Validations:









http://valid.x86-secret.com/show_oc.php?id=120299


Aircooled with Arctic Freezer. Stock Thermal paste. I have an AS5 sitting around but the stock one seems to known better I've heard.


Specs:
Gigabyte DS3 with f4 bios
Conroe 6400
Corsair XMS 6400
OCZ 600w PSU (forgot the model but the blue one it is)
Arctic Cooling freezer


I'll try to see if the F5 bios will give some extra juices, Im on F4 right now so here's to hoping that this newly release one will make a difference. But anyhow, whether it gives more power or not, Im already satisfied to what it is. This combo overclocks like nobody's business!


Intel Conroe. Two thumbs-up!
Perversity:
        No matter what you tell your child to do, he will always do the
        opposite.  Huh?
 Brain: Don't you get it!?  You gotta use reverse psychology!
 Homer: Well, that sounds too complicated.
 Brain: Okay, don't use reverse psychology.
 Homer: All right, I will!

Offline Demo™

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 2670
Re: Gigabyte DS3 and Conroe 6400, Excellent Combo
« Reply #1 on: September 17, 2006, 05:05:28 AM »
What type of mem are you using right now ?
i7 2600K @ 5.2Ghz/Gigabyte Z68-UD7-B3/G.Skill 8-10-8 2133Mhz 16GB /3x GTX580 3GB/2x Intel 510 250GB RAID0/2x Samsung F3 1TB/Silverstone Stridder Gold 1200/Dell 3007

Offline aeroes

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 238
Re: Gigabyte DS3 and Conroe 6400, Excellent Combo
« Reply #2 on: September 18, 2006, 06:03:49 AM »
What type of mem are you using right now ?


Sorry, I thought I already said that in the first post?

CPU : Intel Core 2 E6400 (*1)
CPU Arch : 2 Cores - 2 Threads
CPU PSN : Intel(R) Core(TM)2 CPU 6400 @ 2.13GHz
CPU EXT : MMX SSE SSE2 SSE3 SSE4 EM64T
CPU Cache : L1 : 2 x 32/2 x 32 KB - L2 : 2048 KB
Core : Allendale (65 nm) / Revision : B2
CPUID : 6.F.6 / Extended : 6.F
Freq : 3520.17 MHz (440.02 * 8 )
----------------------------------
MB Brand : Gigabyte Technology Co. Ltd.
MB Model : 965P-DS3
NB : Intel P965/G965 rev C1
SB : Intel 82801HB (ICH8) rev 02
----------------------------------
RAM Size : 2048 MB
RAM Freq : 440 MHz
RAM Type : DDR2-SDRAM Dual Channel
RAM Ratio : 1:1
RAM Timings : 5-5-5-12
----------------------------------
Slot 1 : 1024MB (PC2-6400)
Slot 1 Manufacturer : Corsair
Slot 2 : 1024MB (PC2-6400)
Slot 2 Manufacturer : Corsair
Perversity:
        No matter what you tell your child to do, he will always do the
        opposite.  Huh?
 Brain: Don't you get it!?  You gotta use reverse psychology!
 Homer: Well, that sounds too complicated.
 Brain: Okay, don't use reverse psychology.
 Homer: All right, I will!

Offline axelangel007

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 822
Re: Gigabyte DS3 and Conroe 6400, Excellent Combo
« Reply #3 on: September 19, 2006, 04:17:12 PM »
did you upgrade flash your bios?


Offline Demo™

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 2670
Re: Gigabyte DS3 and Conroe 6400, Excellent Combo
« Reply #4 on: September 19, 2006, 08:39:50 PM »
Sorry i wasnt to specific also.

I wanted to know the exact type ( which includes the stock timings ) and the current timings running now.As there are atleast 3 types of XMS 6400
i7 2600K @ 5.2Ghz/Gigabyte Z68-UD7-B3/G.Skill 8-10-8 2133Mhz 16GB /3x GTX580 3GB/2x Intel 510 250GB RAID0/2x Samsung F3 1TB/Silverstone Stridder Gold 1200/Dell 3007

Offline aeroes

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 238
Re: Gigabyte DS3 and Conroe 6400, Excellent Combo
« Reply #5 on: September 20, 2006, 08:48:02 AM »
Sorry i wasnt to specific also.

I wanted to know the exact type ( which includes the stock timings ) and the current timings running now.As there are atleast 3 types of XMS 6400


Corsair XMS2 6400 800Mhz 5-5-5-12 version 5.1 currently running at 880Mhz at the same timings voltage @2.0.

I hated the ram... I can't get past 900FSB!
Perversity:
        No matter what you tell your child to do, he will always do the
        opposite.  Huh?
 Brain: Don't you get it!?  You gotta use reverse psychology!
 Homer: Well, that sounds too complicated.
 Brain: Okay, don't use reverse psychology.
 Homer: All right, I will!

Offline aeroes

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 238
Re: Gigabyte DS3 and Conroe 6400, Excellent Combo
« Reply #6 on: September 20, 2006, 08:49:54 AM »
did you upgrade flash your bios?



Yeah I did upgrade the bios. The board was shipped with F3.
Perversity:
        No matter what you tell your child to do, he will always do the
        opposite.  Huh?
 Brain: Don't you get it!?  You gotta use reverse psychology!
 Homer: Well, that sounds too complicated.
 Brain: Okay, don't use reverse psychology.
 Homer: All right, I will!

Offline Demo™

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 2670
Re: Gigabyte DS3 and Conroe 6400, Excellent Combo
« Reply #7 on: September 20, 2006, 07:32:02 PM »
I think the C4 modules are rated to do those speeds.. but you got 40Mhz above the rating speed thats already a good bonus  ^_^
i7 2600K @ 5.2Ghz/Gigabyte Z68-UD7-B3/G.Skill 8-10-8 2133Mhz 16GB /3x GTX580 3GB/2x Intel 510 250GB RAID0/2x Samsung F3 1TB/Silverstone Stridder Gold 1200/Dell 3007

Offline aeroes

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 238
Re: Gigabyte DS3 and Conroe 6400, Excellent Combo
« Reply #8 on: September 21, 2006, 09:08:50 AM »
Yeah, I find it surprising for a ram who's known to be a good overclocker to work poorly, this is unexpected for XMS2 series. I think my processor wanted to go further but the ram is holding its back.
Perversity:
        No matter what you tell your child to do, he will always do the
        opposite.  Huh?
 Brain: Don't you get it!?  You gotta use reverse psychology!
 Homer: Well, that sounds too complicated.
 Brain: Okay, don't use reverse psychology.
 Homer: All right, I will!

Offline vanich2005

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 940
Re: Gigabyte DS3 and Conroe 6400, Excellent Combo
« Reply #9 on: September 26, 2006, 08:16:25 AM »
@aeros

 Binta mo nalang sa akin :wacko:.Sobrang ok na yan na OCing. :happy:

Offline aeroes

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 238
Re: Gigabyte DS3 and Conroe 6400, Excellent Combo
« Reply #10 on: October 02, 2006, 11:54:11 AM »
@aeros

 Binta mo nalang sa akin :wacko:.Sobrang ok na yan na OCing. :happy:


Hindi pa ok yan heheh!

With F6 Bios

http://valid.x86-secret.com/show_oc?id=126417




Maabot ko lng yung 460 graduate na ako! Kaya lang hindi ko alam kung may ikakasa pa!  :lol:

I'll try to post some superpi later!
Perversity:
        No matter what you tell your child to do, he will always do the
        opposite.  Huh?
 Brain: Don't you get it!?  You gotta use reverse psychology!
 Homer: Well, that sounds too complicated.
 Brain: Okay, don't use reverse psychology.
 Homer: All right, I will!

Offline axelangel007

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 822
Re: Gigabyte DS3 and Conroe 6400, Excellent Combo
« Reply #11 on: October 02, 2006, 01:28:04 PM »
how many secs pag superpi in 1 m, and 32 m
mine is 26minutes and 26 in 32 m and 1m is 21.678secs im using stock speed

http://www.pinoypc.net/cms//index.php?option=com_smf&Itemid=28&topic=17915.20

Offline aeroes

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 238
Re: Gigabyte DS3 and Conroe 6400, Excellent Combo
« Reply #12 on: October 06, 2006, 12:15:09 PM »


http://img89.imageshack.us/my.php?image=aeroesconroe005lj5.jpg



Highest overclock achieved: 3767.72Mhz http://valid.x86-secret.com/show_oc?id=126421

The most stable OC achieved: 3688Mhz

Aircooled!, unmodded.


That's it! I think I have like around 75% overclock na. Sa ngayon balik sa 3Ghz OC na baka umapoy na yung proc! LOL!


I've never been as satisfied as what I am now in all of my PC components purchases. SULIT ang Conroe! My next upgrade might be in the next 2-3yrs as I don't do much in my computer at all, I just OC for fun :) So maybe I say goodbye for it for a while.. Concentrate muna ako sa ibang bagay.. Hmmm, automobile nman cguro...


Thank you PPC'ers!
Perversity:
        No matter what you tell your child to do, he will always do the
        opposite.  Huh?
 Brain: Don't you get it!?  You gotta use reverse psychology!
 Homer: Well, that sounds too complicated.
 Brain: Okay, don't use reverse psychology.
 Homer: All right, I will!

Offline reel

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 5083
Re: Gigabyte DS3 and Conroe 6400, Excellent Combo
« Reply #13 on: October 07, 2006, 09:32:37 AM »
OT: diba E6400 is of the Allendale core? its really confusing when people call all Core2Duo as Conroe
Save Earth. Eat Plastic.

Offline zer0

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 19718
  • just breathe...
Re: Gigabyte DS3 and Conroe 6400, Excellent Combo
« Reply #14 on: October 07, 2006, 09:54:45 AM »
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Intel_Core_2

Quote
Allendale
 
Intel Core 2 Duo E6300 "Allendale"

For a very long time, it was considered that stripped down versions of the Conroe processors were code-named Allendale. In actuality, Allendale is a code-name for a different processor. Many suggest that E6300 and E6400 are actually code-named Allendale, however, the E6300 (1.86 GHz) and E6400 (2.13 GHz) processors are not code-named Allendale because they physically have 4mb cache, same as their big brothers E6600 and E6700 - it is just that half of their physical memory is disabled. Traditionally, CPUs of the same family with less cache simply have the unavailable cache disabled (this allows parts that fail quality control to be sold at a lower rating). The fact that E6300 and E6400 are not code-named Allendale and actually code-named Conroe has been confirmed by Intel themselves.

Quoted from TechReport:

You'll find plenty of sources that will tell you the code name for these 2 MB Core 2 Duo processors is "Allendale," but Intel says otherwise. These CPUs are still code-named "Conroe," which makes sense since they're the same physical chips with half of their L2 cache disabled. Intel may well be cooking up a chip code-named Allendale with 2 MB of L2 cache natively, but this is not that chip.

Offline samson

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 38
Re: Gigabyte DS3 and Conroe 6400, Excellent Combo
« Reply #15 on: October 08, 2006, 11:09:47 AM »
Hmmmm.... @zer0 nice find! :happy:
deleted!

Offline aeroes

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 238
Re: Gigabyte DS3 and Conroe 6400, Excellent Combo
« Reply #16 on: October 16, 2006, 04:32:32 AM »
Gigabyte DS3 is now supporting the Quad core kentsfield!! Yihaaww!
Perversity:
        No matter what you tell your child to do, he will always do the
        opposite.  Huh?
 Brain: Don't you get it!?  You gotta use reverse psychology!
 Homer: Well, that sounds too complicated.
 Brain: Okay, don't use reverse psychology.
 Homer: All right, I will!


Offline ninjababez

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 6
Re: Gigabyte DS3 and Conroe 6400, Excellent Combo
« Reply #18 on: October 17, 2006, 12:20:23 AM »
Gigabyte DS3 is now supporting the Quad core kentsfield!! Yihaaww!

and your next upgrade will be in the next 2-3 years?
 :lol:

Offline aeroes

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 238
Re: Gigabyte DS3 and Conroe 6400, Excellent Combo
« Reply #19 on: October 17, 2006, 08:27:32 AM »
Gigabyte DS3 is now supporting the Quad core kentsfield!! Yihaaww!

and your next upgrade will be in the next 2-3 years?
 :lol:

 Aahhh, I see, so you obviously jump into conlclusion that I will upgrade in a couple of months eh? Wrong.

I just wanted to bring out the point that this particular motherboard is now a Quad core compatible. A kinda heads-up to those who wanna get the same board. That's it!


BTW, Welcome to PPC!
Perversity:
        No matter what you tell your child to do, he will always do the
        opposite.  Huh?
 Brain: Don't you get it!?  You gotta use reverse psychology!
 Homer: Well, that sounds too complicated.
 Brain: Okay, don't use reverse psychology.
 Homer: All right, I will!