Author Topic: Server Setup  (Read 1796 times)

Raven

  • Guest
Server Setup
« on: May 26, 2002, 09:11:21 PM »
Can you give me a good minimum specs for a Network Server that I will use in a ICS host for a 20 PC. Any other consideration I have to account to.

Thanks.

Offline BadoodleZ

  • Veterans
  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 68
  • engorged membar
    • My Photographs
Server Setup
« Reply #1 on: May 26, 2002, 09:23:06 PM »
network server? care to elaborate? internet server lang or does it have to provide other services?

Offline flypsyde

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 120
Server Setup
« Reply #2 on: May 26, 2002, 09:31:28 PM »
What OS are you planning on running? Your specs can change drastically between MS and Linux.
It's not about knowing all the answers, but knowing where to get the answers.

Offline bravoexo

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 3266
  • PeopleSoft
Server Setup
« Reply #3 on: May 26, 2002, 09:39:02 PM »
ICS on local?  Intranet kaya itong gusto mo, Raven?  
i7-3770k, GA-Z77X-UP5 TH, Dominator Platinum 16Gb DDR3 1866 C9, GTX ASUS ROG Strix 1080 SLI, Crucial M4 mSATA 256Gb, Crucia MX100-512Gb SSD, Spinpoint F1 1Tb x 2, Barracuda 2Tb Green x 3, LG E2442V x 3, GMX 2.1, HAF-932, M2 850W, MCP355, Apogee GTZ, BlackIce GTX360, G502, AVerMedia LGX, Vantec Dock

Offline draganta

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 395
Server Setup
« Reply #4 on: May 26, 2002, 09:49:37 PM »
what os are going to make a server??? NT or Win2k???

Got for the win2k, my specs are
COMPAQ PROSIGNIA
P2 233
128 EDO-RAM
8x cdrom
built in ang lan
1-pci modem
1-internal 2.3GB HDD
1- removable 20GB HDD
use analog-x proxy
nevermind my rig!

Offline draganta

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 395
Server Setup
« Reply #5 on: May 26, 2002, 09:51:44 PM »
domain server, file server, DHCP server at internet server k ang PROSIGNIA.

if you will use a clone an P3 with 128 RAM will do but try to have 2 HDD for pagefile and caching...
nevermind my rig!

Raven

  • Guest
Server Setup
« Reply #6 on: May 27, 2002, 01:53:39 AM »
Gusto ko i-network yung mga PC namin at gawin na rin itong ICS host or server to access internet. Siguro I'll use WinXP as an OS though I'm thinking also of using Linux(mas powerful daw ito) medyo mangangapa nga lang muna ako sa pagsesetup. We might use D

Offline morpheus08

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 24
Server Setup
« Reply #7 on: May 27, 2002, 02:05:47 AM »
You can use Linux and any old hardware you have. If you have a big hard drive ( I mean capacity ), you could install your own proxy server on it. Bear in mind though that a proxy is memory hungry ( depends on the numbers of requests it gets ). Install a 1

Offline draganta

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 395
Server Setup
« Reply #8 on: May 27, 2002, 02:31:48 AM »
My Prosingnia server handles my 25 units at my office siyempre hindi siya GAMESERVER...
Office work...
nevermind my rig!

chaos

  • Guest
Server Setup
« Reply #9 on: May 27, 2002, 02:54:14 AM »
Quote
128 EDO-RAM? (mas ok ba ito kesa SDRAM)


sino ang nagsabi sa iyo nito?  sabihin mo at ipapakain ko yung EDO-RAM sa kanya! hehehe...just kidding.. =) I do hope the person who mentioned to you this was just fooling around.  EDO RAMS are

Offline draganta

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 395
Server Setup
« Reply #10 on: May 27, 2002, 03:03:15 AM »
I still use the 128 EDO RAMS... it was not for P4 of course...
COMPAQ PROSIGNIA, P2 233, 128 EDO-RAM, 8x cdrom, built in ang lan




Edited by draganta on 5/27/2002 3:01:56 PM
nevermind my rig!

Offline spolarium

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 0
Server Setup
« Reply #11 on: May 27, 2002, 03:04:36 AM »