Author Topic: house to house networking (DSL to Cable)  (Read 2952 times)

Offline chinoy

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
house to house networking (DSL to Cable)
« on: May 20, 2002, 08:05:19 AM »
I'm planning to network 2 houses in Ayala Alabang, isa gamit ay PLDT aDSL at isa naman yung Destiny Cable internet, I know so far how to work around Destiny strict rule of one pc per connection, but my question naman ngayon ay, anong magandang Proxy softw

Offline barurutor

  • Moderators
  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3498
  • The Truth Shall Make Ye Fret.
house to house networking (DSL to Cable)
« Reply #1 on: May 20, 2002, 08:19:58 AM »
Next time use more descriptive thread titles.
<insert witty saying or hobby specs here>

Offline BadoodleZ

  • Veterans
  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 68
  • engorged membar
    • My Photographs
house to house networking (DSL to Cable)
« Reply #2 on: May 20, 2002, 08:37:52 AM »
anong os gamit mo? ilang pc's? why do you need a proxy? if you've got nat nde mo na kailangan ng kung anu anong proxies, its just a matter of port mapping and proper configuration. if you're using win2k/xp u can just use ics and unless your's is a special

Offline chinoy

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
house to house networking (DSL to Cable)
« Reply #3 on: May 20, 2002, 08:45:46 AM »
sorry barurutor, nawala sa isip ko...

4 computers on the DSL side, 5 computers on the Destiny side, on both houses, naka win2k pro ang server tapos ang client is ranging from win98 se to winme, sa NAT ba ay kaya na yung mga 3rd party applications l

Offline bravoexo

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 3266
  • PeopleSoft
house to house networking (DSL to Cable)
« Reply #4 on: May 20, 2002, 09:26:25 AM »
Wow, here's when I really believe Wifi will make things so much hassleproof...
i7-3770k, GA-Z77X-UP5 TH, Dominator Platinum 16Gb DDR3 1866 C9, GTX ASUS ROG Strix 1080 SLI, Crucial M4 mSATA 256Gb, Crucia MX100-512Gb SSD, Spinpoint F1 1Tb x 2, Barracuda 2Tb Green x 3, LG E2442V x 3, GMX 2.1, HAF-932, M2 850W, MCP355, Apogee GTZ, BlackIce GTX360, G502, AVerMedia LGX, Vantec Dock

g3gohu

  • Guest
house to house networking (DSL to Cable)
« Reply #5 on: May 20, 2002, 10:24:44 AM »
chinoy, agree with BadoodleZ, you don't need to set up any proxy software...you can just setup one of your machines as your internet gateway using ICS which is already built in with Win98SE, Win2k, WinXP...if you don't want to dedicate a PC for the purpos

Biggs

  • Guest
house to house networking (DSL to Cable)
« Reply #6 on: May 20, 2002, 10:30:13 AM »
g3gohu, anong router meron mo diyan?

Sent you a pm na din.

g3gohu

  • Guest
house to house networking (DSL to Cable)
« Reply #7 on: May 20, 2002, 10:41:25 AM »
What i have on stock right now are broadband routers that have a built-in 4-port 10/100 switch, print server, backup com port and NAT firewall.

...also sent you a pm...thanks.

Offline zerodivide

  • Administrator
  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 4
house to house networking (DSL to Cable)
« Reply #8 on: May 20, 2002, 11:15:14 AM »
chinoy,

I doubt that PLDT and Destiny share a common backbone.  The ping times between locations will probably prevent any decent throughput between houses.  The WiFi approach may be better if you are in range.   You'll have to setup a gateway to c

Offline bravoexo

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 3266
  • PeopleSoft
house to house networking (DSL to Cable)
« Reply #9 on: May 20, 2002, 11:34:49 AM »
Quote
btw, bravoexo...also have some 802.11b WiFi stuff on stock if you're interested...


Thanks for the offer, but I've already covered the house with one.
i7-3770k, GA-Z77X-UP5 TH, Dominator Platinum 16Gb DDR3 1866 C9, GTX ASUS ROG Strix 1080 SLI, Crucial M4 mSATA 256Gb, Crucia MX100-512Gb SSD, Spinpoint F1 1Tb x 2, Barracuda 2Tb Green x 3, LG E2442V x 3, GMX 2.1, HAF-932, M2 850W, MCP355, Apogee GTZ, BlackIce GTX360, G502, AVerMedia LGX, Vantec Dock

g3gohu

  • Guest
house to house networking (DSL to Cable)
« Reply #10 on: May 20, 2002, 11:41:55 AM »
Bravoexo, sounds like you've got a great setup over there!  It's nice to hear from someone who's also embraced the latest in home networking technology.

Offline bravoexo

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 3266
  • PeopleSoft
house to house networking (DSL to Cable)
« Reply #11 on: May 20, 2002, 11:52:30 AM »
Nun time pa na may Screensavers at nafeature nina Patrick Norton and Leo Laporte yung Airport card (even in Fresh Gear)...I wanted one...he he he...
i7-3770k, GA-Z77X-UP5 TH, Dominator Platinum 16Gb DDR3 1866 C9, GTX ASUS ROG Strix 1080 SLI, Crucial M4 mSATA 256Gb, Crucia MX100-512Gb SSD, Spinpoint F1 1Tb x 2, Barracuda 2Tb Green x 3, LG E2442V x 3, GMX 2.1, HAF-932, M2 850W, MCP355, Apogee GTZ, BlackIce GTX360, G502, AVerMedia LGX, Vantec Dock

Offline domeng

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 119
    • http://www.markdomingo.com
house to house networking (DSL to Cable)
« Reply #12 on: May 20, 2002, 11:58:59 AM »
set up a linux gateway for each house, setup ip_masquerading and loading necessary modules for some protocols, set up squid on each, configuring them to be heirarchical caches. connect the computers according to your preference (a working preference, that

Offline athlonFan

  • Veterans
  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 2358
    • fyq's site
house to house networking (DSL to Cable)
« Reply #13 on: May 20, 2002, 12:07:20 PM »
fast and easy. winroute.

although i still haven't figured out how to play online games behind winroute.
I should put something smart or silly here.

http://athlonfan.multiply.com

Offline BadoodleZ

  • Veterans
  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 68
  • engorged membar
    • My Photographs
house to house networking (DSL to Cable)
« Reply #14 on: May 20, 2002, 05:54:37 PM »
ico-connect mo ba both networks of each house?

Offline Juan1

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 33
    • Saved Content
house to house networking (DSL to Cable)
« Reply #15 on: May 20, 2002, 08:15:07 PM »
how much are wifi cards and hubs now?

Offline splerdu

  • Veterans
  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 7378
house to house networking (DSL to Cable)
« Reply #16 on: May 21, 2002, 03:16:14 AM »
the proxy would be useful to spread load between the two connections. you'll want the computer on dsl and the computer on cable to run an instance of your favorite proxy server, then either one of them (or a third computer)  running one more proxy over an
fhtagn

Offline splerdu

  • Veterans
  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 7378
house to house networking (DSL to Cable)
« Reply #17 on: May 21, 2002, 03:18:27 AM »
wifi is good, but right now i'd suggest you go for 802.11a over the 5GHz band. better performance (~50mbps vs ~11mbps) and a cleaner frequency.

it's kinda sad, but the way i see things 802.11b and 2.4GHz is on a dead-end route.
fhtagn

Offline domeng

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 119
    • http://www.markdomingo.com
house to house networking (DSL to Cable)
« Reply #18 on: May 21, 2002, 05:34:24 AM »
http://www.squid-cache.org/Doc/Hierarchy-Tutorial/tutorial-7.html

splerdu, i trust that you have made it working. ayos ba? ;)

nvictus

  • Guest
house to house networking (DSL to Cable)
« Reply #19 on: May 21, 2002, 04:17:57 PM »
Quote
it's kinda sad, but the way i see things 802.11b and 2.4GHz is on a dead-end route.


Definitely go with 802.11a if you're going wireless.  Whatever happened to 802.11g?  Supposed to be backwards compatible with 802.11b, also faster b