Author Topic: Athlon XP 2500+(barton) + N2U400-A... How far could it go?  (Read 1644 times)

Offline alexxx

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • http://
Athlon XP 2500+(barton) + N2U400-A... How far could it go?
« on: August 26, 2004, 04:17:31 AM »
I felt dissapointed wen i found out that ECS N2U400-A does not allow changes on core voltage. Anyone tried to OC these products as pair??? How far could it go?

Offline dean

  • Administrator
  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3720
    • http://www.pinoypc.net
Athlon XP 2500+(barton) + N2U400-A... How far could it go?
« Reply #1 on: August 26, 2004, 05:11:59 AM »
not all chips overclock the same so... better just try it out =)
Make yourself heard
Portable Strobist Kit for Rent!
Includes: 2in1 shoot thru/reflective umbrella, lightstand, RF trigger/receiver, 8pcs AA sanyo eneloop, nissin di622, gel filters

cots

  • Guest
Athlon XP 2500+(barton) + N2U400-A... How far could it go?
« Reply #2 on: August 26, 2004, 05:35:57 AM »
ung barkada ko from xp 2500+ @1.83 to 3200+ @2.2

Offline amd

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 25
Athlon XP 2500+(barton) + N2U400-A... How far could it go?
« Reply #3 on: August 26, 2004, 07:06:31 AM »
di ba ang problem sa ecs n2u walang multiplier settings sa bios? fsb lang ang pwedeng pag laruan?

Offline arbee

  • Veterans
  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 906
    • flickr
Athlon XP 2500+(barton) + N2U400-A... How far could it go?
« Reply #4 on: August 26, 2004, 09:03:44 AM »
Quote
di ba ang problem sa ecs n2u walang multiplier settings sa bios? fsb lang ang pwedeng pag laruan?




well, even if the mobo does have multiplier settings, not all barton have unlocked multipliers....current bartons are locked by default
what is certain in this world is uncertainty...


Offline BaThMaN

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 156
    • http://
Athlon XP 2500+(barton) + N2U400-A... How far could it go?
« Reply #5 on: August 26, 2004, 04:30:54 PM »
Quote
I felt dissapointed wen i found out that ECS N2U400-A does not allow changes on core voltage.


you can always set your vcore up to 1.85V... i think this trick works for more than 4 years now... http://www.ocinside.de/go_e.html?/html/workshop/pinmod/amd_pinmod.html
eddie gil for president!

1ceman

  • Guest
Athlon XP 2500+(barton) + N2U400-A... How far could it go?
« Reply #6 on: August 27, 2004, 12:37:26 PM »
I tried to set the FSB to 200 nagboot pero when it loads the WinXp blue screen den auto-restart =(.. meaning nde sya stable



@cots ung barkada ko from xp 2500+ @1.83 to 3200+ @2.2 -- paano nya nagawa ito

Offline dean

  • Administrator
  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3720
    • http://www.pinoypc.net
Athlon XP 2500+(barton) + N2U400-A... How far could it go?
« Reply #7 on: August 27, 2004, 03:14:55 PM »
try the trick that boss bathman posted.  you prolly need more voltage.



btw, what memory are you using?
Make yourself heard
Portable Strobist Kit for Rent!
Includes: 2in1 shoot thru/reflective umbrella, lightstand, RF trigger/receiver, 8pcs AA sanyo eneloop, nissin di622, gel filters

Offline kent

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 425
Athlon XP 2500+(barton) + N2U400-A... How far could it go?
« Reply #8 on: August 27, 2004, 06:49:59 PM »
that pair (n2u $ barton 2500+) will work at 200fsb giving you 3200+ just make sure the memory is good.

no other setting to change.
si vis pacem, parabellum.

nemo me impune lacessit.

Offline alexxx

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
    • http://
Athlon XP 2500+(barton) + N2U400-A... How far could it go?
« Reply #9 on: August 29, 2004, 01:57:26 AM »
Mga bossing suggestion nman po sa memory... I only got a couple of Kingston 128mb PC2100.

I don't think I can do mods frm ocinside. dats too hi-tech for me.lolz

Actually i'm afraid tryin those...

1ceman

  • Guest
Athlon XP 2500+(barton) + N2U400-A... How far could it go?
« Reply #10 on: August 30, 2004, 04:26:38 PM »
I got an Infineon 2x512MB ddr400 cl3.0...

but my HSF is only the stock.. nde kaya yun yng problem? or yng mem pero pag FSB166 oks naman windows XP is working fine

Offline ting

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 259
Athlon XP 2500+(barton) + N2U400-A... How far could it go?
« Reply #11 on: August 31, 2004, 11:52:44 AM »
try mo i set sa 200 ang FSB



pero sa akin need niya higher vcore para stable sa 2.2Ghz 11x200
Athlon 64 3000+|MSI K9VGM-V|Inno3d 7600GT PCIe|512MB DDR2 533|Altec Lansing ATP3|AOC 7KLR|2x 40GB Diamnond Max+8|Toshiba DVD-RW
3DMARK 2K3 click here
2006' Honda XRM Special Edition
1998' Honda City 1.5EXi

Offline ting

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 259
Athlon XP 2500+(barton) + N2U400-A... How far could it go?
« Reply #12 on: August 31, 2004, 11:58:54 AM »
Quote
I don't think I can do mods frm ocinside. dats too hi-tech for me.lolz

Actually i'm afraid tryin those...




ok lang yan kaya mo yan.. dati ako natatandaan ko

nasira ko yung GF2 MX400 minod ko kasi. convert ko to quadro



nung una nag boot then minod ko naman yung fan niyapinalitan ko ng iba

ayun pagkatapos nun garbage na lumalabas.. wala akong pamlapit nun

mahal pa kasi MX400 that time nasa 4.5K pa



pero ok lang atleast may natutunan akong bago..  kaya yung

2nd GF2 MX400 ko maganda na pagkaka MOD



nakapaf mode na din ako ng processor pero di OPGA

yung duron ko dati na 850 MHZ ayun buhay pa hanggang ngayon hehhe
Athlon 64 3000+|MSI K9VGM-V|Inno3d 7600GT PCIe|512MB DDR2 533|Altec Lansing ATP3|AOC 7KLR|2x 40GB Diamnond Max+8|Toshiba DVD-RW
3DMARK 2K3 click here
2006' Honda XRM Special Edition
1998' Honda City 1.5EXi

1ceman

  • Guest
Athlon XP 2500+(barton) + N2U400-A... How far could it go?
« Reply #13 on: August 31, 2004, 12:14:50 PM »
already used a globalwin cak44t.. stable at 11X190 only.. 2.09Ghz only

ECS N2U400-A does not have vcore adjustment fixed at 1.63V only



btw how can I change the cpu multiplier.. id like to try 10X200



@ting wat mobo r u using?

Offline dean

  • Administrator
  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3720
    • http://www.pinoypc.net
Athlon XP 2500+(barton) + N2U400-A... How far could it go?
« Reply #14 on: August 31, 2004, 01:19:55 PM »
boss 1ceman,



not too sure kung meron din multiplier options yung ecs na motherboard pero kung meron man, dapat unlocked din ang cpu mo.



boss alexxx,



mahihirapan ka talaga i-overclock yung 2500+ mo kase you're only using PC2100 memory (otherwise known as DDR266).  ang fsb ng barton by default is 333mhz fsb.  i suggest you invest in good memory like geil, twinmos or kingston.
Make yourself heard
Portable Strobist Kit for Rent!
Includes: 2in1 shoot thru/reflective umbrella, lightstand, RF trigger/receiver, 8pcs AA sanyo eneloop, nissin di622, gel filters

Offline ting

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 259
Athlon XP 2500+(barton) + N2U400-A... How far could it go?
« Reply #15 on: August 31, 2004, 01:51:44 PM »
MSI K7N2 Delta-L gamit ko.

unlocked barton 2500+
Athlon 64 3000+|MSI K9VGM-V|Inno3d 7600GT PCIe|512MB DDR2 533|Altec Lansing ATP3|AOC 7KLR|2x 40GB Diamnond Max+8|Toshiba DVD-RW
3DMARK 2K3 click here
2006' Honda XRM Special Edition
1998' Honda City 1.5EXi

twiggy

  • Guest
Athlon XP 2500+(barton) + N2U400-A... How far could it go?
« Reply #16 on: August 31, 2004, 03:52:58 PM »
I'd like to overclock my XP2500, my mobo is ECS L7VTA2 KT400. I saw in bios that i could change the fsb from 166 to 199 only. I'm still looking for ways to change the core voltage, mukang nakalock. And i currently have 256mb 333mhz ddr. Is anybody using the same mobo? What else do i have to change besides the fsb and core voltage? Finally, do you suggest i buy 512mb 400mhz ddr na branded?

1ceman

  • Guest
Athlon XP 2500+(barton) + N2U400-A... How far could it go?
« Reply #17 on: August 31, 2004, 03:53:33 PM »
@ting wats d vcore voltage r u using to overclocked your barton? tnx

@dean  unlocked cguro yng barton ko kc i can set it to 11X190 = 2.09Ghz di ko nga lng mapaabot sa 2.2Ghz =( bka yng ECS mobo na dapat palitan

Offline ting

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 259
Athlon XP 2500+(barton) + N2U400-A... How far could it go?
« Reply #18 on: August 31, 2004, 04:19:21 PM »
1.7v @ 2.2GHZ 11x200

1.65v @ 2083 12.5x166

1.65 @ 2100 10.5x200

1.55v @ 2000 10x200



gusto ko sana i 1.5v kaso hanggang 1.55v lang Mobo ko
Athlon 64 3000+|MSI K9VGM-V|Inno3d 7600GT PCIe|512MB DDR2 533|Altec Lansing ATP3|AOC 7KLR|2x 40GB Diamnond Max+8|Toshiba DVD-RW
3DMARK 2K3 click here
2006' Honda XRM Special Edition
1998' Honda City 1.5EXi

jenki

  • Guest
Athlon XP 2500+(barton) + N2U400-A... How far could it go?
« Reply #19 on: September 03, 2004, 11:41:22 AM »
For N2U400-A, I'm using AMD xp2600. Using default values I only got 1.8 Ghz. But I configured the FSB to 185 and speed reached 2.19 GHz. I use Sandra to test burn, and I'm seeing stable operation and temperature not exceeding 50C.  I tried pushing the FSB to 200 but Operating system acted weird so I push back to 185.