Author Topic: ...file is missing or corrupt: D:windowssystem32configsystem =(  (Read 2838 times)

Offline liquid

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 0
what causes this file in win xp to be corrupt? tsaka paano inaayos ito nang hindi nagrereinstall ng win xp? sayang kasi yung ibang programs ko e. hiniram ko lang yung mga installer. pangalawang beses na ako na ganito. nabubuwisit na nga ako sa xp e. help please!

Offline dta

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 3273
...file is missing or corrupt: D:windowssystem32configsystem =(
« Reply #1 on: March 28, 2003, 01:09:16 PM »
Just some general hints to try (non-WinXP specific):



Have you tried using Scandisk or Chkdsk to check if your hard drive has any bad sectors?



Have you checked that your memory (RAM) is stable and does not have errors (which could thus cause error when reading/writing to hard disk)? If you're overclocking, memory corruption could more likely to happen.



Have you checked that the hard drive controller/cable are not loose which could cause corruption when reading/writing to hard disk?



Have you checked if you have any rogue software (viruses or trojans, etc.) that could corrupt the data?

Offline liquid

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 0
...file is missing or corrupt: D:windowssystem32configsystem =(
« Reply #2 on: March 28, 2003, 01:26:56 PM »
naisip ko rin baka sa pagooverclock ko dahil nung unang na-corrupt yung file, medyo pangit pa yung ram ko nun. bumili ako ng bago at di ko na ginamit un. overclocked pa rin proc ko ngayon pro default clock naman ram ko, aggressive timings lang. stable naman siya sa prime95 nung nagtest ako. i'm ruling out viruses at loose cables, but i'll be checking for bad sectors. bad trip lang ako kasi sa win98 walang kaproble-problema, samantalang winxp dapat yung rock stable. dual-boot pala ako nagyon. dta, alam mo ba paano ayusin ngayon ito?

chaos

  • Guest
...file is missing or corrupt: D:windowssystem32configsystem =(
« Reply #3 on: March 28, 2003, 01:27:02 PM »
pag sobrang overclock.. hehehe..



here's a fix that doesn't need XP re-installation



 

 Q: WINDOWSSYSTEM32CONFIGSYSTEM is corrupt. HELP! (#3546)  

 A: Your system displays the error message.



Windows could not start because the following file is missing or corrupt: WINDOWSSYSTEM32CONFIGSYSTEM



That means the System Registry Hive has become corrupted.



There are two ways to get back up and running. The easy way which doesn't always work, and then there is the hard way.



Easy Way --- Note that this doesn't always work.

When you are booting your system, press the F8 key during the start of the bootup sequence, meaning after it does the Power On Self Test.



Once you press the F8 key, you will be taken to a Menu. Select "Boot Using Last Known Good Configuration".



It will now attempt to load Windows XP using a past set of configuration files.



If that doesn't work, there is the next step....the hard way.



Hard Way

Boot your system with the Windows XP Install CD, let the system boot into the Setup. Once in the Setup, choose to run the Recovery Console.



You will now be presented with a screen similar to good old DOS.



First, we will recover the System Hive.



Now, type in the following commands with pressing Enter after each line.



md tmp

copy C:windowssystem32configsystem C:windows   mpsystem.bak

delete C:windowssystem32configsystem

copy C:windowsepairsystem C:windowssystem32configsystem



Be very careful when you are typing in these commands, one wrong move, and you know, broken Windows XP.



Also, change the C in the commands to whatever your Windows XP drive letter is.



Attempt to boot the system, if it doesn't boot, get back into the Recovery Console and do the following commands.



md tmp

copy C:windowssystem32configsoftware C:windows   mpsoftware.bak

delete C:windowssystem32configsoftware

copy C:windowsepairsoftware C:windowssystem32configsoftware

 



hope this helps!!!

Offline dta

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 3273
...file is missing or corrupt: D:windowssystem32configsystem =(
« Reply #4 on: March 28, 2003, 01:31:56 PM »
A quick browse at MS support site yields the same info as chaos (who also most likely got it from "Googling" ;-)



See here:

http://support.microsoft.com/default.aspx?scid=KB;en-us;q307545



In short, your Windows registry is corrupt and you need to recover it thru the method mentioned above.

Offline liquid

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 0
...file is missing or corrupt: D:windowssystem32configsystem =(
« Reply #5 on: March 28, 2003, 01:32:54 PM »
chaos,



tnx talaga! =) ibababa ko na nga fsb ko. hehe. sakit sa ulo kasi ng winxp. maselan. =)

Offline liquid

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 0
...file is missing or corrupt: D:windowssystem32configsystem =(
« Reply #6 on: March 28, 2003, 01:33:56 PM »
tnx din dta, nauna lang onti si chaos. =)

Offline liquid

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 0
...file is missing or corrupt: D:windowssystem32configsystem =(
« Reply #7 on: March 28, 2003, 01:42:03 PM »
di ako matiyaga mag-google kasi. =) andyan naman kayo para mapagtanungan kaya nag sign-up ako sa ppc. dami ko pa natututunan. =) mukhang marami na ring nagkaroon ng ganitong problema a. marami na nga ba?

Offline KillerMCB

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 842
    • http://www.piggypen.net
...file is missing or corrupt: D:windowssystem32configsystem =(
« Reply #8 on: March 28, 2003, 05:15:49 PM »
that also happens to me when overclocking. just up the vcore voltage kung kaya pa para maging stable.
[PPC]KillerMCB / Shotgun Pig (^00^)
-= The Pigpen =- http://www.piggypen.net

Offline dean

  • Administrator
  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3617
    • http://www.pinoypc.net
...file is missing or corrupt: D:windowssystem32configsystem =(
« Reply #9 on: March 31, 2003, 12:52:18 AM »
liquid, if you signed up here for the simple reason that you don't want to find answers on your own then i think you should re-think things.  we don't promote laziness.  let chaos and dta be your examples of resourceful people...you should follow suit.
Make yourself heard
Portable Strobist Kit for Rent!
Includes: 2in1 shoot thru/reflective umbrella, lightstand, RF trigger/receiver, 8pcs AA sanyo eneloop, nissin di622, gel filters

Offline dean

  • Administrator
  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3617
    • http://www.pinoypc.net
...file is missing or corrupt: D:windowssystem32configsystem =(
« Reply #10 on: March 31, 2003, 01:01:17 AM »
Quote
overclocked pa rin proc ko ngayon pro default clock naman ram ko, aggressive timings lang




hmm...are you running on official bus speds?  100 or 133mhz fsb?  because if you say that your processor is overclocked and your memory is at default then that'll only happen if you are running at default bus speeds.  once you change the fsb of the cpu to values which are not default values, your memory bus speed is affected and so are the pci and agp bus speeds.



anyhow, if this problem doesn't happen when running at default clock speeds and only happens when you overclock... you have an idea of the culprit already.  



in my experience, when i overclock too high...this happens (the corrupted file and stuff) but once i clock it down, it's all ok again.  there were times when clocking down didn't help.
Make yourself heard
Portable Strobist Kit for Rent!
Includes: 2in1 shoot thru/reflective umbrella, lightstand, RF trigger/receiver, 8pcs AA sanyo eneloop, nissin di622, gel filters

Offline liquid

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 0
...file is missing or corrupt: D:windowssystem32configsystem =(
« Reply #11 on: March 31, 2003, 01:41:42 PM »
@ dean,

pasensya sa earlier comment. magtiyatiyaga na ako sa google. hehe. mahirap kasi minsan maghanap ng info, tsaka at least dito me kausap ka na pwede mag-elaborate.no offense meant. :) as for the overclock thingie, what i meant was yung cpu was at 166mhz fsb as well as the ram which is rated ddr333, kaya nasabi kong default clock siya. sorry for the confusion. may 1/5 divider pala mobo ko kaya normal pa rin agp at pci bus speeds ko.



@KillerMCB

naisip ko nga ring taasan ung voltage e, kaso takot ako, mahinang klase psu ko kasi. baba na nga masyado +5V rail ko e, tapos mataas na rin +12V rail ko. mukhang ipon muna ako para sa bagong psu. tnx for the input. :)