Author Topic: 100mbps to 10mbps  (Read 1000 times)

Offline egzbuen

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 810
100mbps to 10mbps
« on: September 26, 2006, 08:22:37 AM »
Guys, quick question.

Normally, when I connect to my internet connection, the notification icon on the system tray would show or indicate that it is connected at 100mbps. However, just last night, the change started. Instead of 100mbps, when I connect, it mrely shows that it is connected at 10mbps.

What gives?
What can I do to change it?
Will it affect my DSL connection speed and/or realibility?

Thanks
AMD X2 7750 Black Edition
Asus M3A78-CM
PC 4670 gddr3 512mb
8gb DDR800
2tb Seagate
4tb Seagate
4tb Seagate
LG 22x DVD writer

A64 - 3500+
KN1 SLI Extreme
Palit 7300GT 256mb
1GB Kingston ddr400
500GB Seagate SATA II
200GB Seagate IDE
LG DVD Writer LS

Dell Inspiron Notebook
Intel Core Duo

Online lahar

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 7584
Re: 100mbps to 10mbps
« Reply #1 on: September 26, 2006, 08:30:16 AM »
It means your network card transmission/reception is only at 10Mbps instead of 100Mbps. Must be a driver fluke. It doesn't matter though, what is your DSL connection? 5Mbps? Your PC is still waiting on the internet.

Offline dta

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 3273
Re: 100mbps to 10mbps
« Reply #2 on: September 26, 2006, 09:15:15 AM »
Guys, quick question.

Normally, when I connect to my internet connection, the notification icon on the system tray would show or indicate that it is connected at 100mbps. However, just last night, the change started. Instead of 100mbps, when I connect, it mrely shows that it is connected at 10mbps.

What gives?
What can I do to change it?
Will it affect my DSL connection speed and/or realibility?

There's probably something wrong with the wiring connection or the LAN card itself. A friend of mine used to have a LAN card that keeps on blinking (connected at 10mbps, then connection at 100mbps, almost every few seconds.... sometimes it also says "this connection has limited connectivity" and sometimes connected/disconnected".

Naturally, I think it was resolved by changing the LAN card...
Of course, it might not be the LAN card but the LAN cable or even the RJ45 connector that might be the problem (or even drivers). So try checking your cables that they're wired using EIA-TIA568 standard (see this for wiring sample:
http://www.duxcw.com/digest/Howto/network/cable/cable5.htm)

If after you've updated your drivers, your cables etc. and tried using the LAN card on another PC to test if it shows the same problem, then maybe the problem is elsewhere...


If you can reliably connect at 10mbps, that's more than enough for DSL (less than about 1mbps lang naman sa atin usually yung speed ng DSL, most of us have 384/512kbps DSL connections -- these are below than 1mbps, far below the 10mbps).

For networks, if you're transferring files, 10mbps and 100mbps there might be noticeable difference though.


~~~~~

another thing, in the driver details of the LAN card, usually there's an option in the Advanced to select which speed to choose (usually the default is Auto-Negotiation, which means it will select 10 or 100 automatically depending on what it's connected to -- say your router/switch is only 10mbps, LAN card will connect at 10mbps...)   I'm not sure if it would be okay to just force it to always connect at 100mbps.

Offline spoliarium

  • Moderators
  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 4986
  • The Last Airbender
Re: 100mbps to 10mbps
« Reply #3 on: September 26, 2006, 10:19:38 AM »
Replug the RJ45 jack, might be a loose conection, happened to a me a few times.

Or put the lan card in another PCI slot.
It is only with the heart that one can see rightly; what is essential is invisible to the eye.

Offline reel

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 5083
Re: 100mbps to 10mbps
« Reply #4 on: September 26, 2006, 05:07:06 PM »
experience suggests a faulty LAN card. i usually have that on realtek chip based NICs, i have more luck with Davicoms
Save Earth. Eat Plastic.

Offline egzbuen

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 810
Re: 100mbps to 10mbps
« Reply #5 on: September 27, 2006, 03:54:11 PM »
Replug the RJ45 jack, might be a loose conection, happened to a me a few times.

Or put the lan card in another PCI slot.

Doc, it worked. Thanks for the suggestion.

Thanks also to ya all.
AMD X2 7750 Black Edition
Asus M3A78-CM
PC 4670 gddr3 512mb
8gb DDR800
2tb Seagate
4tb Seagate
4tb Seagate
LG 22x DVD writer

A64 - 3500+
KN1 SLI Extreme
Palit 7300GT 256mb
1GB Kingston ddr400
500GB Seagate SATA II
200GB Seagate IDE
LG DVD Writer LS

Dell Inspiron Notebook
Intel Core Duo