Author Topic: Connecting PLDT fibr modem  (Read 1168 times)

Offline DonJuan

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 854
  • AMDG
Connecting PLDT fibr modem
« on: September 24, 2016, 12:34:51 PM »
Hi. Would like to ask for some inputs what tobuse to bridge fibr? I am thinking of getting ubiquiti edgerouter x or edgerouter x SFP, edgerouter lite... I want to bridge my fibr using any of those mentioned above... I am on 50mbps plan. Any inputs on which one to get. Here is my intended network setup:

Fibr connection ---> 1. to my download rig 2. File/media server 3. Workstation PC 4. WIFI to about 4 people in the house connecting via accesspoint... any tips?
"Crystal"

WORKSTATIONS:

I7 6850K @ 4.3Ghz | X99 E WS 3.1 | Dominator 64GB 3466 | GTX1080 | 850 Pro 512GB | 6x 6TB HGST 7k6000 | NH D15s | 900D | K95 | RAT 8 | PA279Q | Seasonic P1200W | SB ZXR | Z906 5.1 |

R7 1700X | XHAIR6EXTREME | 32GB | SW2700PT | PRIME 850W Ti| WD GOLD | GTX1070 | View 71

Offline lahar

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 7459
Re: Connecting PLDT fibr modem
« Reply #1 on: September 24, 2016, 03:49:37 PM »
How much are those routers? I used to just use cheapo Buffalo routers when I had 100Mbps fiber internet in Japan.

Offline DonJuan

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 854
  • AMDG
Re: Connecting PLDT fibr modem
« Reply #2 on: September 24, 2016, 09:39:57 PM »
Around 50-120 USD po
"Crystal"

WORKSTATIONS:

I7 6850K @ 4.3Ghz | X99 E WS 3.1 | Dominator 64GB 3466 | GTX1080 | 850 Pro 512GB | 6x 6TB HGST 7k6000 | NH D15s | 900D | K95 | RAT 8 | PA279Q | Seasonic P1200W | SB ZXR | Z906 5.1 |

R7 1700X | XHAIR6EXTREME | 32GB | SW2700PT | PRIME 850W Ti| WD GOLD | GTX1070 | View 71

Offline calvin

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 6288
Re: Connecting PLDT fibr modem
« Reply #3 on: October 19, 2016, 12:05:08 AM »
if you're going to use site to site VPN the ER-X would give better performance...
but the ER-Lite gives better throughput traffic (great for streaming)

the ER-X-SFP is basically just the ER-X with a Small Form-Factor Pluggable slot... which you won't need in a home environment - ever.

I'm currently using the ER-Lite coupled with 2 Unifi AC AP Lite

Offline DonJuan

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 854
  • AMDG
Re: Connecting PLDT fibr modem
« Reply #4 on: October 28, 2016, 12:03:54 PM »
if you're going to use site to site VPN the ER-X would give better performance...
but the ER-Lite gives better throughput traffic (great for streaming)

the ER-X-SFP is basically just the ER-X with a Small Form-Factor Pluggable slot... which you won't need in a home environment - ever.

I'm currently using the ER-Lite coupled with 2 Unifi AC AP Lite

You mean you got the Ubiquiti EdgeMax EdgeRouter Lite ERLite-3 512MB Memory 3 Ethernet Ports Router? I bought an asus ac68u 1900 router and had the pldt fbr modem on bridge mode. I plan to get what you have and make my asus ac68u 1900 on AP mode. My setup is a desktop computer to be connected via wired LAN, about 6-8 devices connected wireless, a nas box via wired lan which is connected to an android media box via wired lan to access files to play hd movies on my tv. Any ideas what I should do when I get the ubiquiti erlite 3? I am a real noob on netwroking.

Is the ubiquiti easy to configure? Would it be also a good idea to make it as a switch? And connect my nas to it and some other stuff and still make the asus as a router?
"Crystal"

WORKSTATIONS:

I7 6850K @ 4.3Ghz | X99 E WS 3.1 | Dominator 64GB 3466 | GTX1080 | 850 Pro 512GB | 6x 6TB HGST 7k6000 | NH D15s | 900D | K95 | RAT 8 | PA279Q | Seasonic P1200W | SB ZXR | Z906 5.1 |

R7 1700X | XHAIR6EXTREME | 32GB | SW2700PT | PRIME 850W Ti| WD GOLD | GTX1070 | View 71

Offline calvin

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 6288
Re: Connecting PLDT fibr modem
« Reply #5 on: October 28, 2016, 08:32:43 PM »
there's no point in getting the ER-Lite if you're just going to use it as a switch... for one, each port is isolated from one another - you'd have to create a the routing table if you'd want to configure it as a switch (think managed switched on steroids).

technically, it's an enterprise router... it's easier to configure than most enterprise level routers but more complicated than your regular SOHO routers.


yes, I do have the ER-Lite