Author Topic: OC Q6600, what mobo?  (Read 6625 times)

Offline reel

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 5083
Re: OC Q6600, what mobo?
« Reply #20 on: May 19, 2011, 10:30:33 AM »
your E5400, when overclocked well over 3.6GHz, is faster than the Q6600 in some cases, such as on older games or games that dont really require quads (i.e. Crysis 2). but with new games cropping up with heavier CPU requirements, such as Bad Company 2, it should be faster.
Save Earth. Eat Plastic.

Offline splerdu

  • Veterans
  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 7015
Re: OC Q6600, what mobo?
« Reply #21 on: May 21, 2011, 02:21:48 PM »
I'd say a slight downgrade for some games, but an upgrade for overall usability.
The performance difference should be close, if not a bit less than (in games, you eventually you get GPU-limited) to that of E8600 vs Q6600 @ stock speeds (~900MHz difference):
http://www.anandtech.com/bench/Product/54?vs=53
fhtagn

Offline Thakker

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 896
Re: OC Q6600, what mobo?
« Reply #22 on: June 11, 2011, 02:40:40 PM »
From what proc again?
6700k |  16GB 3200Mhz DDR4 | GTX1080ti FE | 840 Pro SSD 512GB, 240GB Intel SSD, 120GB Force GT, 3TB SV32 | Q701 | QBX iTX | Ducky Shine + Vortex PBT Doubleshots | Acer X34 IPS Gsync | HTC Vive

Offline Capcom

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 1848
Re: OC Q6600, what mobo?
« Reply #23 on: June 11, 2011, 11:07:13 PM »
Pentium Dual COre e5300 @ 3.9ghz
Intel Core i5 2500, Asrock B75 , 8gb Crucial Ballistix , Palit GTX950 2GB , 80Gb Samsung EVO  ,2x3tb Seagate SV35, Razer Krait , FSP Aurum 600w

Offline splerdu

  • Veterans
  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 7015
Re: OC Q6600, what mobo?
« Reply #24 on: June 12, 2011, 05:17:25 AM »
Oh PDC pala. I thought you were coming from a Core2Duo.
Definitely an upgrade.

fhtagn

Offline reel

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 5083
Re: OC Q6600, what mobo?
« Reply #25 on: June 12, 2011, 08:30:03 AM »
that PDC is mostly faster than older C2Ds such as the E4xx, and its not that much slower compared to a, say, E7xxx.
Save Earth. Eat Plastic.

Offline splerdu

  • Veterans
  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 7015
Re: OC Q6600, what mobo?
« Reply #26 on: June 12, 2011, 10:31:51 AM »
that PDC is mostly faster than older C2Ds such as the E4xx, and its not that much slower compared to a, say, E7xxx.





Looks quite a bit slower to me.

The architecture may be newer, but just 1MB of cache per core means its slower than a lower-clocked E7 series, and sometimes its slower even than the E4 series.

Q6600 is faster per-core, and has more cores.

[sauce]
fhtagn

Offline splerdu

  • Veterans
  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 7015
Re: OC Q6600, what mobo?
« Reply #27 on: June 12, 2011, 10:50:00 AM »
Here's the clock-for-clock between E6 and the PDC E5:
http://www.anandtech.com/bench/Product/60?vs=98

The older E6 core wins every just about every test, even in gaming. Wolfsdale is great, but not with 1MB of cache per-core.
fhtagn

Offline splerdu

  • Veterans
  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 7015
Re: OC Q6600, what mobo?
« Reply #28 on: August 06, 2012, 04:43:26 AM »
Q6600 lives strong!

Dodgy internet caused by teh stormz is preventing me from playing diablo, so I ran Heaven 3.0 instead.


GPU was at +100 offset and +122% power. Pretty much stayed at 1185MHz throughout the run, 75C max temp.
fhtagn

Offline dta

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 3272
Re: OC Q6600, what mobo?
« Reply #29 on: August 06, 2012, 05:24:59 PM »
Tesselation was disabled. What if Tesselation is enabled (moderate/normal settings)?

What PSU do you use to power up your system?

Offline splerdu

  • Veterans
  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 7015
Re: OC Q6600, what mobo?
« Reply #30 on: August 06, 2012, 06:35:59 PM »
I just used the default settings when Heaven started and changed AF/AA to 16x/4x. With normal tesselation it gets just over 60+.

CoolerMaster Silent Pro 600M.




fhtagn

Offline splerdu

  • Veterans
  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 7015
Re: OC Q6600, what mobo?
« Reply #31 on: August 15, 2012, 01:49:07 PM »
41.1 @ maxxed out settings.
8xaa, 16xaf, Extreme Tesselation, High shaders

fhtagn