Author Topic: OC Q6600, what mobo?  (Read 6626 times)

Offline sixtyfive

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
OC Q6600, what mobo?
« on: April 11, 2011, 10:40:57 AM »
Hi,

For those who owns overclock Q6600, what motherboard do you use with it? Are you glad or would you have done it another way?

I'm also looking to up my ram to 8gb and currently have 2x 2gb 667 so a 4 slot would be helpful.

I did search the forums and years has passed from the last posts. Another reason why I decided to make a new is because time has passed and mobo may have rotated out.

Thanks!

Offline splerdu

  • Veterans
  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 7015
Re: OC Q6600, what mobo?
« Reply #1 on: April 11, 2011, 11:30:43 AM »
Asus Commando
very happy with it.
fhtagn

Offline sixtyfive

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Re: OC Q6600, what mobo?
« Reply #2 on: April 11, 2011, 11:35:36 AM »
How much did you spend on it? I did a quick search and it returned ram sticks only. I don't think the motherboard version is still available.

Cheers

Offline splerdu

  • Veterans
  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 7015
Re: OC Q6600, what mobo?
« Reply #3 on: April 11, 2011, 12:13:40 PM »
I can't even remember lol, but almost surely over 10k at the time i got it.
And yes, it is rather out of production at this point.
fhtagn

Offline sixtyfive

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Re: OC Q6600, what mobo?
« Reply #4 on: April 11, 2011, 12:26:44 PM »
Right now, I only have pcx.com.ph and villman.com to get a rough estimate of availability and pricing. Do you know any other local computer stores?

Offline sixtyfive

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Re: OC Q6600, what mobo?
« Reply #5 on: April 11, 2011, 12:42:59 PM »
Has anyone tried this one? http://villman.com/Product-Detail/Asus_P5G41C_M_LX

How about Asus' "Turbo Key"? Is it the same as overclocking?

Offline sixtyfive

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Re: OC Q6600, what mobo?
« Reply #6 on: April 12, 2011, 01:23:19 AM »
Has anyone tried this one? http://villman.com/Product-Detail/Asus_P5G41C_M_LX

How about Asus' "Turbo Key"? Is it the same as overclocking?

Sadly, that board doesn't have raid controllers. Should I just get an Asus board that I like and go with it? Are there any other brands to consider available in the local market?

Offline dta

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 3272
Re: OC Q6600, what mobo?
« Reply #7 on: April 13, 2011, 11:29:59 AM »
Quote
Sadly, that board doesn't have raid controllers. Should I just get an Asus board that I like and go with it? Are there any other brands to consider available in the local market?

Asus P5G41C-M LX is an entry-level board (supports both DDR2 and DDR3), but it has relatively few features (and being entry-level typically means, overclocking is generally not a very strong point -- high-end boards typically have better power-phases or voltage regulators in the board, which improves chances of overclocking).

In any case, I think it's not that worth it to get another board for your Q6600 since the current Core i-series processors will easily beat them. I think the dual-core i3-2100 with HT, may in many instances beat the Q6600 (unless the applications you're using can really make full use of quad-core  processing).

Offline sixtyfive

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Re: OC Q6600, what mobo?
« Reply #8 on: April 13, 2011, 12:07:49 PM »
Thank you for your advice, dta. I'm also thinking of turning it to 'htpc'.

If I may ask you further, what do you think is the most "bang for your buck" processor+motherboard? I can do a websearch for this one but I'm going to get motherboard recommendation that isn't available in the local market. I'm looking to overclock it so preferably it's relatively new but not too new as guides or tests found online may not be tested or reliable. It's going to be a workstation.

Thanks

Offline juke

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 5103
Re: OC Q6600, what mobo?
« Reply #9 on: April 13, 2011, 09:54:42 PM »
For overclocking, I'd recommend Asus or Gigabyte motherboard with P45 or P43 chipset. I'd prefer Gigabyte because most of their motherboards offer lots of connectivity and also support for legacy ports.
i5-3570k / Thermalright Ultra-120 Extreme
Asrock z77 Extreme6
G-Skill ECO 2x2GB + 2x4GB DDR3-12800 1.35v
Palit Jetstream GTX680 2GB
Seagate 10GB+
LG H620N 18x SATA DVD-RW
Corsair HX620W psu
Coolermaster Cosmos S
Asus VG278H 120Hz 3D
Logitech G15 v2
Logitech MX518

Offline sixtyfive

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Re: OC Q6600, what mobo?
« Reply #10 on: April 14, 2011, 01:19:25 AM »
Thanks juke.

I'm currently looking at i5 2500k but it has like RAM money difference to an i7 2600k. Do you know any other website that sells Gigabyte motherboard? I'm only looking at Villman and PCX as local reference for availability.

Offline splerdu

  • Veterans
  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 7015
Re: OC Q6600, what mobo?
« Reply #11 on: April 15, 2011, 05:36:29 PM »
If you already have the Q6600 (or another 775 cpu), Asus Rampage I boards just recently showed up on the cheap on PCX's website.
fhtagn

Offline dta

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 3272
Re: OC Q6600, what mobo?
« Reply #12 on: April 16, 2011, 07:29:43 PM »
Quote
I'm currently looking at i5 2500k but it has like RAM money difference to an i7 2600k. Do you know any other website that sells Gigabyte motherboard? I'm only looking at Villman and PCX as local reference for availability.

You can also check Rising Sun, which often has competitive prices too. Or better is go to Gilmore and check the many stores there...

In my experience, Villman's prices tend to be higher than the others (maybe 10-15% higher), but they often have stocks, whereas the other shops have none or less stocks. Although sometimes Villman has items on "promo", which will usually then be comparable to other value shops. Are you not located within Metro Manila area?

Offline sixtyfive

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 10
Re: OC Q6600, what mobo?
« Reply #13 on: April 17, 2011, 02:11:01 AM »
---

Offline mpfuf

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 556
Re: OC Q6600, what mobo?
« Reply #14 on: April 22, 2011, 06:15:40 PM »
I'm still on a q6600.

I had my old motherboard die out on me, an Asus p5q-se. I had a hard time finding a mother board replacement since this is already an outdated chip and was already contemplating on getting an i5. Luckily, I found someone selling a 2nd hand p5q vanilla which was in a very good condition. Now my rig is running at 3.6  :)

Would have I done it another way if I had the chance? I'd say no. This is just because I haven't tried the newer chips and with the games nowadays I think they are more held back by the GPU and not the CPU. I still have to come across a game where I wish I had more FPS knowing that my CPU is holding me back. With the other things I do like photo editing, video editing and the likes, I feel my HD is the weakest link in my setup right now.
Q6600 G0 @ 3.6 Ghz + XSPC Rasa + 2x120 Rads + Syscooling Pump and accessories
Asus p5q Vanilla
Palit GTX 460 @ 800 + Syscooling water block
2x Caviar Black 640GB
Aerocool touch 1000

Offline mpfuf

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 556
Re: OC Q6600, what mobo?
« Reply #15 on: April 22, 2011, 06:17:05 PM »
I accidentally clicked a new message on this thread. Now what to say....

If you can't get a decent 2nd hand board to overclock your procy then just sell it then save the funds to get an i-series processor.
Q6600 G0 @ 3.6 Ghz + XSPC Rasa + 2x120 Rads + Syscooling Pump and accessories
Asus p5q Vanilla
Palit GTX 460 @ 800 + Syscooling water block
2x Caviar Black 640GB
Aerocool touch 1000

Offline Thakker

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 896
Re: OC Q6600, what mobo?
« Reply #16 on: April 25, 2011, 11:53:48 AM »
Was just browsing local stores the other week, and saw this:

http://www.pcx.com.ph/index.php/components/motherboard/asus-rampage-formula-x48-ddr2.html

If you have 5k to spare, Id suggest pick this Asus Rampage Fomula. Beefy features, good oc and an x48 unde the hood.. probably the best chipset in the 775 era.. the last and most mature of the lot which would oc your Q6600 very well provided you have good rams, a golden cpu batch, and a reliable PSU. Best of all its brand new.. thought these things were phased out. These were like 14k-ish back then.

If your a little bit on the budget, go get yourself a 2nd hand mid-high P45 series mobo. They oc good as well
6700k |  16GB 3200Mhz DDR4 | GTX1080ti FE | 840 Pro SSD 512GB, 240GB Intel SSD, 120GB Force GT, 3TB SV32 | Q701 | QBX iTX | Ducky Shine + Vortex PBT Doubleshots | Acer X34 IPS Gsync | HTC Vive

Offline splerdu

  • Veterans
  • Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 7015
Re: OC Q6600, what mobo?
« Reply #17 on: April 25, 2011, 02:06:38 PM »
See what I posted up there ^
Anyways I'm guessing 'new old-stock'. They probably found a couple of unsold boards in one of their warehouses somewhere.
fhtagn

Offline Thakker

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 896
Re: OC Q6600, what mobo?
« Reply #18 on: April 25, 2011, 07:07:53 PM »
Parang sarap humalunkat lang sa warehouse nila ah hehe
6700k |  16GB 3200Mhz DDR4 | GTX1080ti FE | 840 Pro SSD 512GB, 240GB Intel SSD, 120GB Force GT, 3TB SV32 | Q701 | QBX iTX | Ducky Shine + Vortex PBT Doubleshots | Acer X34 IPS Gsync | HTC Vive

Offline Capcom

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 1848
Re: OC Q6600, what mobo?
« Reply #19 on: May 15, 2011, 02:14:13 PM »
just changed my processor to a Q6600 @ 3.0ghz... is it an upgrade or downgrade ?
Intel Core i5 2500, Asrock B75 , 8gb Crucial Ballistix , Palit GTX950 2GB , 80Gb Samsung EVO  ,2x3tb Seagate SV35, Razer Krait , FSP Aurum 600w