Author Topic: FREE Linux Tutorial.  (Read 100702 times)

Ahyel

  • Guest
FREE Linux Tutorial.
« Reply #20 on: August 07, 2002, 11:17:21 PM »
how can i access the files on my C: FAT32 partition for win98se and D: NTFS for WinXP using my Linux on hda6-8 (boot, swap and root) partition? and vice versa. I want to access files on the linux partition using win98se or winxp.

Offline dta

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 3273
FREE Linux Tutorial.
« Reply #21 on: August 07, 2002, 11:43:00 PM »
Hmm. I'm also a Linux newbie, but I think to access the files on your C: FAT32 partition, you need to mount that partition first using the "vfat" mode.



You need to find out the  HDx-x of your C: FAT32 partition (I think there's a command to do that, but I forgot what it is)



Then you "mount -t vfat [drive] [directory]"... well something like that... as I said I'm very unsure of the syntax... but that should help you get started (use the help feature of Linux)

Offline dein

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 13
FREE Linux Tutorial.
« Reply #22 on: August 07, 2002, 11:45:15 PM »
if you're in ur linux system, you can access those other partitions. usually it's found in the /mnt/ directory. on the other hand, if you wish to access your llinux system when you're in win98se or winxp, (correct me if i'm wrong) you can't. well, i can't in my case.  i  have mandrake 8.2 and win98se in my system.  



so what i did was install vmware in my llinux system and had another win98se operating inside linux. in this way, i don't have to reboot to shift from one OS to another.

Offline domeng

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 119
    • http://www.markdomingo.com
FREE Linux Tutorial.
« Reply #23 on: August 08, 2002, 12:06:55 AM »
basically:



first ide master -] /dev/hda

first ide slave -] /dev/hdb

second ide master -] /dev/hdc

second ide slave -] /dev/hdd



syempre maiiba pa yan kung raid, scsi, scsi-emulated, etc.



example:

mount /dev/hdaX /mount/point/ -t vfat

where X is partition number



win32 ext2 reader -] http://uranus.it.swin.edu.au/~jn/linux/explore2fs.htm

maotsetong

  • Guest
FREE Linux Tutorial.
« Reply #24 on: August 08, 2002, 12:16:09 AM »
as we all know, you cannot run linux apps in Windows. so you would only want to access linux files from within windows if those files are your data files (i.e HTML, mp3 etc., and not linux executatble). so the solution is, when you're in linux, don't save your data in linux partition. save it in a filesystem that both OS would have access (i.e. vfat)



cheers!

testnburnold

  • Guest
FREE Linux Tutorial.
« Reply #25 on: August 08, 2002, 12:16:47 AM »
what tv tuner software you guys are using?

xawtv?

Ahyel

  • Guest
FREE Linux Tutorial.
« Reply #26 on: August 08, 2002, 03:16:43 AM »
What is the difference between Wine and VMware?

Offline Locohijo

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 566
  • Hello, I'm a Mac ..... and I'm a PC too!
FREE Linux Tutorial.
« Reply #27 on: August 08, 2002, 03:31:51 AM »
WINE's acronym says it all, it means Wine Is Not an Emulator whereas VMWare is. :)



Here's an excerpt of WINE's "what is" on WineHQ.org ...

Wine is an implementation of the Windows Win32 and Win16 APIs on top of X and Unix. Think of Wine as a Windows compatibility layer. Wine provides both a development toolkit (Winelib) for porting Windows sources to Unix and a program loader, allowing many unmodified Windows 3.x/95/98/ME/NT/W2K/XP binaries to run under Intel Unixes. Wine works on most popular Intel Unixes, including Linux, FreeBSD, and Solaris.



Addition ...



In WINE, you would not really need any Windows installed on your PC, it would run any WINE certified Windows apps by default.  In VMWare it's different, since VMWare just emulates an x86 machine (thus creating a virtual x86 machine), you'll need to install Windows on that virtual machine of yours as it need an OS to run.



So what does this means?  in WINE, you would not be able to run *all* Windows apps whereas in VMWare you can, albeit it's usually very slow due to the overhead of the emulated instructions.



Edited by Locohijo on 2002-08-08 03:43:25
UNIX ON THE INSIDE, AQUA ON THE OUTSIDE

seawolf

  • Guest
FREE Linux Tutorial.
« Reply #28 on: August 08, 2002, 04:54:28 AM »
mga guro still NO DOMAIN NAME SERVER AVAILABLE TO VALIDATE PASSWD in WIN98



PAKI ANALYSE napo ...nid in very urgent







username  binoy


password  ****








d ba this error is pointing na d nya madetect domain name na AMD ? not a


username and paswd problem ?





if I cancel the logon





IN LINUX I ping 192.168.0.2 it REPLY


IN WINDOWS I ping 192.168.0.1 it REPLY








PC 1 LINUX  192.168.0.1   DOMAIN CONTROLLER





PC 2 WIN98  192.168.0.2


computer name win98








i use TCP/IP and  NETBEUI





in the LAN TCP/ip of win98  in the NETBIOS TAB


Netbios support allows you to run Netbios applications over the TCP/ip


protocol





----THIS IS DISABLE  i cant put a check mark on it..





IN DNS Configuration  TAB ng TCP/IP ng LAN


    Host is win98  Domain is win98.pacific.net.ph


    DNS servr search order


        192.168.0.2


        192.168.0.1





In gateway TAB


        192.168.0.1





   
IN LINUX ============================





/etc/hosts


# Do not remove the following line, or various programs


# that require network functionality will fail.


127.0.0.1               localhost.localdomain localhost


192.168.0.1             airmax.pacific.net.ph airmax


192.168.0.2             win98.pacific.net.ph win98





/etc/resolv.conf


search localdomain


search pacific.net.ph


search airmax.pacific.net.ph


search win98.pacific.net.ph


search 192.168.0.1


search 192.168.0.2





/etc/samba/smb.conf


# Samba config file created using SWAT


# from airmax.pacific.net.ph (192.168.0.1)


# Date: 2002/08/07 01:36:15


# Global parameters


[global]


        workgroup = AMD


        netbios name = airmax


        encrypt passwords = Yes


        update encrypted = Yes


        domain logons = Yes


        os level = 33


        preferred master = Yes


        domain master = Yes


        wins support = Yes





[NETLOGON]


        path = /somewhare/in/file/system





[profiles]


        path = /export/smb/ntprofile


        writeable = Yes


        create mask = 0600


        directory mask = 0700











THEN I RuN THIS








[root@airmax /root]# smbclient -L win98


SSL: Error error setting CA cert locations:


error:00000000:lib(0):func(0):reason(0)


trying default locations.


added interface ip=192.168.0.1 bcast=192.168.0.255 nmask=255.255.255.0


added interface ip=172.16.61.1 bcast=172.16.61.255 nmask=255.255.255.0


protocol negotiation failed


[root@airmax /root]#








[root@airmax /root]# smbclient -L airmax


SSL: Error error setting CA cert locations:


error:00000000:lib(0):func(0):reason(0)


trying default locations.


added interface ip=192.168.0.1 bcast=192.168.0.255 nmask=255.255.255.0


added interface ip=172.16.61.1 bcast=172.16.61.255 nmask=255.255.255.0


Password:


Anonymous login successful


Domain=[AMD] OS=[Unix] Server=[Samba 2.0.7]





   Sharename      Type      Comment


   ---------      ----      -------


   NETLOGON       Disk      


   profiles       Disk      


   IPC$           IPC       IPC Service (Samba 2.0.7)





   Server               Comment


   ---------            -------


   AIRMAX               Samba 2.0.7





   Workgroup            Master


   ---------            -------


   AMD                  AIRMAX










Edited by seawolf on 2002-08-08 04:55:17

Ahyel

  • Guest
FREE Linux Tutorial.
« Reply #29 on: August 08, 2002, 05:01:28 AM »
Why is it that linux is slow compared to Windows? There is a significant delay when I launch nautilus as compared to when i launch windows explorer.

nvictus

  • Guest
FREE Linux Tutorial.
« Reply #30 on: August 08, 2002, 12:58:05 PM »
seawolf



I think if you're using 'encrypt passwords = yes,' you need to create a separate samba passwd file.  You cannot use linux passwd file.  Somebody correct me if i'm wrong.  Try commenting the 'encrypt passwords = yes' and see what happens.  If that doesn't work then uncomment it back, and create an smbpasswd file and add it's location to your [global] in smb.conf, like this;



encrypt passwords = yes

smb passwd file = /etc/samba/smbpasswd



Also, do you have 'ssl CA Certfile = /location of file..' uncommented in your smb.conf?

Offline joelbryan

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 239
    • joelbryan.com
FREE Linux Tutorial.
« Reply #31 on: August 09, 2002, 08:17:11 PM »
try disabling SSL support explicitly.

Offline joelbryan

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 239
    • joelbryan.com
FREE Linux Tutorial.
« Reply #32 on: August 09, 2002, 08:25:41 PM »
Quote
Can I access my linux files inside windows?




Yes, this is possible, and it's only supported when you have ext3, you will need to download the program called explore2fs.

This is a very handy tool when you can't boot linux, and your going to backup your files outside linux.

Offline joelbryan

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 239
    • joelbryan.com
FREE Linux Tutorial.
« Reply #33 on: August 09, 2002, 08:49:32 PM »
Quote
can anyone recommend sites on learning linux? google's results are overwhelming






I enjoy reading "Linux Newbie Administrator Guide (LNAG)" when I'm first learning linux, some of it are pretty old, but they keep it updated (newest ver. 0.188 2002-06-01), the documentation is entertaining and I recommend it to people who are very new and amateurly experienced to linux.





http://sunsite.dk/linux-newbie





also try reading "Introduction to UNIX" by Max Stallman, this is a great book and it gives you a good overview about UNIX, and will apply in Linux. I think the last time I bought it (2nd copy), it just cost P99 pesos.

Edited by joelbryan on 2002-08-09 20:51:06

maotsetong

  • Guest
FREE Linux Tutorial.
« Reply #34 on: August 10, 2002, 01:51:03 AM »
been linuxing for 3 years now, and this is the first time i encountered this:



using ps/2 mouse.



mouse and x. how to configure it?



i've tried all the mouse protocols and types



/dev/mouse

/dev/psaux

/dev/input/mice .. mouse0,1,2



but still unfortunate for it to work.



even installed gpm just to test, still no go.



even tried three different mice.



even recompiled kernel (2.4.18) to support all types of mice.



not the ps/2 port 'coz it works fine in XP.



motherboard P4S333.



what else can you suggest?



thanks

Offline domeng

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 119
    • http://www.markdomingo.com
FREE Linux Tutorial.
« Reply #35 on: August 10, 2002, 02:07:35 AM »
where are you having mouse problems? in console, in x or both?

are you running gpm before/while in X?

maotsetong

  • Guest
FREE Linux Tutorial.
« Reply #36 on: August 10, 2002, 02:16:41 AM »
i can't get it to work in X so i tried installing gpm to see if it'll work in console. it doesn't work in console, nor in X.

maotsetong

  • Guest
FREE Linux Tutorial.
« Reply #37 on: August 10, 2002, 02:18:24 AM »
oh to answer clearly ur question, i tried both: x with gpm and x without gpm


Offline domeng

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 119
    • http://www.markdomingo.com
FREE Linux Tutorial.
« Reply #38 on: August 10, 2002, 02:21:40 AM »
test your mouse first in gpm:



'gpm -m /dev/psaux -t ps/2 -Rraw'



corresponding entry in XF86Config would be:



    Identifier  "Mouse1"

    Driver      "mouse"

    Option "Protocol"    "PS/2"

    Option "Device"      "/dev/gpmdata"

maotsetong

  • Guest
FREE Linux Tutorial.
« Reply #39 on: August 10, 2002, 02:45:42 AM »
tried that already. still no go. not even in console. thanks a lot anyways =)