Author Topic: Can I overclock my pentium-III 1ghz@1.3ghz?  (Read 11551 times)

AnThO

  • Guest
Can I overclock my pentium-III 1ghz@1.3ghz?
« on: May 23, 2002, 08:48:38 AM »
pwede bang ioverclock ung pentiumIII 1ghz@1.3ghz?
hanggang san ba kaya ioverclock ung pentiun3 1ghz and papano?
wala pa ko alam about overclocking eh hindi ba recommended ioverclock
pentium processors?

ano ba disadvantage?and advantage?

muffin

  • Guest
Can I overclock my pentium-III 1ghz@1.3ghz?
« Reply #1 on: May 23, 2002, 08:58:38 AM »
what's your mobo? your mobo is very important factor, because it's an important factor that determines whether you could OC or not, besides from the processor that your using. your 1ghz i guess can be OC by fsb.

some pentiums are recommended for OC

Offline Al

  • Administrator
  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3856
    • Trashcan of Thoughts
Can I overclock my pentium-III 1ghz@1.3ghz?
« Reply #2 on: May 23, 2002, 09:02:52 AM »
Oc'ing a P3 1GHz to 1.3GHz is a long shot at best.
Trashcan of Thoughts -- http://www.allibrero.com

Offline alikishi

  • Moderators
  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 1764
    • http://alikishi.multiply.com
Can I overclock my pentium-III 1ghz@1.3ghz?
« Reply #3 on: May 23, 2002, 09:03:08 AM »
check out the overclocking sections... there is something like a "read first" thread there... Dun yung basics ng overclocking.  And besides, this should be in the overclocking section
Nikon D300 + MB D10, Nikkor 17-55mm F/2.8G, Nikkor 70-200mm F/2.8G VR, Nikon SB-900

edmon_cu

  • Guest
Can I overclock my pentium-III 1ghz@1.3ghz?
« Reply #4 on: May 23, 2002, 09:16:54 AM »
the advantage of an overclocked CPU:
- it will be faster.

the disadvantages:
- your CPU will perform faster, thus must require a good performing HSF
- depeding on the cooling, you risk the lifespan of your CPU
- a wrongly overclocked CP

muffin

  • Guest
Can I overclock my pentium-III 1ghz@1.3ghz?
« Reply #5 on: May 23, 2002, 09:33:28 AM »
edmon's right AnThO, so better think about it many times...

karunungan

  • Guest
Can I overclock my pentium-III 1ghz@1.3ghz?
« Reply #6 on: May 23, 2002, 10:57:17 AM »
AnThO, Yes pwede!!!!

the highest P3 1G overclock i know is 1.5.

Tip: pre, pls post in the proper sections, or else people here will think you rude. ^o^

I know you've had a rough start here, but play by the rules. mababait naman karami

Offline dean

  • Administrator
  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3517
    • http://www.pinoypc.net
Can I overclock my pentium-III 1ghz@1.3ghz?
« Reply #7 on: May 23, 2002, 01:42:35 PM »
only you can answer that.  try it, if it works then you're ok...if it doesn't work, try going for a lower setting.

there's no guarantee of what speed you'll reach with each processor because most, if not all chips do not overclock to the same level
Make yourself heard
Portable Strobist Kit for Rent!
Includes: 2in1 shoot thru/reflective umbrella, lightstand, RF trigger/receiver, 8pcs AA sanyo eneloop, nissin di622, gel filters

ASmith

  • Guest
Can I overclock my pentium-III 1ghz@1.3ghz?
« Reply #8 on: May 23, 2002, 08:59:14 PM »
hey karunungan how will a 33% overclock guarantee your pci to be at 40mhz ?

kid

  • Guest
Can I overclock my pentium-III 1ghz@1.3ghz?
« Reply #9 on: May 23, 2002, 11:17:16 PM »
Master Jedi is right este Master Dean pala , same advice he gave me few months back, try it yourself Young Padawan

karunungan

  • Guest
Can I overclock my pentium-III 1ghz@1.3ghz?
« Reply #10 on: May 23, 2002, 11:20:00 PM »
Quote
hey karunungan how will a 33% overclock guarantee your pci to be at 40mhz ?


depends on mother board. there are some that have dividers.

karunungan

  • Guest
Can I overclock my pentium-III 1ghz@1.3ghz?
« Reply #11 on: May 23, 2002, 11:24:23 PM »
Quote
there's no guarantee of what speed you'll reach with each processor because most, if not all chips do not overclock to the same level. some are better than the others.


this is so true. you have to see find out the stepping code of th

Offline Louie

  • Administrator
  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 8844
  • Every end is a new beginning
    • PinoyPC
Can I overclock my pentium-III 1ghz@1.3ghz?
« Reply #12 on: May 23, 2002, 11:35:02 PM »
depends on mother board. there are some that have dividers

All motherboards have dividers, as far as I know.

1.3 Ghz on a Coppermine is reaaaally long shot.  Remember that they had trouble with 1.13 Ghz when it first came out.  Of cou

karunungan

  • Guest
Can I overclock my pentium-III 1ghz@1.3ghz?
« Reply #13 on: May 23, 2002, 11:41:25 PM »
Quote
All motherboards have dividers, as far as I know.


of course they all have. what i was trying to point out is that some have the options to set to different settings. i.e. 1/5 and 1/6 PCI bus divider and also the 100/133 memory bus di

Xhristian

  • Guest
Can I overclock my pentium-III 1ghz@1.3ghz?
« Reply #14 on: May 24, 2002, 02:28:17 AM »
i think what Asmith was questioning awhile ago was that a 33% OC does not necessarily equate to a 40 or above mhz PCI bus, as you have mentioned in your previous statement. It also depends on the divider options present in the mobo.

Offline dean

  • Administrator
  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3517
    • http://www.pinoypc.net
Can I overclock my pentium-III 1ghz@1.3ghz?
« Reply #15 on: May 24, 2002, 12:06:23 PM »
Quote
depends on mother board. there are some that have dividers.


yes they do.  memory settings are standard on 815 motherboards.  pci/fsb dividers are standard.  they automatically adjust depending on the bus speed of the cpu.
Make yourself heard
Portable Strobist Kit for Rent!
Includes: 2in1 shoot thru/reflective umbrella, lightstand, RF trigger/receiver, 8pcs AA sanyo eneloop, nissin di622, gel filters

AnThO

  • Guest
Can I overclock my pentium-III 1ghz@1.3ghz?
« Reply #16 on: May 24, 2002, 01:13:25 PM »
My mobo is asus TUV4X (VIA chipset)
My processor Pentium 3-1ghz made in costa rica
Bakit kaya iba itsura nung P3 1ghz ko sa ibang P3-1ghz din, merong
malaking bakal parang sa P4?

nakalagay sa box FC-PGA2 packaging pero ung dinawnload ko u

Offline dean

  • Administrator
  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3517
    • http://www.pinoypc.net
Can I overclock my pentium-III 1ghz@1.3ghz?
« Reply #17 on: May 24, 2002, 08:24:09 PM »
Antho, some coppermines that were made later on already came with an integrated heat spreader (like the Pentium 4 and the Tualatins).  if you read the pdf file of Intel, you'd see the differences of FCPGA and FCPGA2.  
Make yourself heard
Portable Strobist Kit for Rent!
Includes: 2in1 shoot thru/reflective umbrella, lightstand, RF trigger/receiver, 8pcs AA sanyo eneloop, nissin di622, gel filters

Offline draganta

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 395
Can I overclock my pentium-III 1ghz@1.3ghz?
« Reply #18 on: May 24, 2002, 09:27:21 PM »
I'm using ASUS TUSI-M mobo with a P3-866MHz, 128 MB SDRAM
with a 40GB HDD.
Can I overclock this???
nevermind my rig!

Offline dean

  • Administrator
  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3517
    • http://www.pinoypc.net
Can I overclock my pentium-III 1ghz@1.3ghz?
« Reply #19 on: May 24, 2002, 09:54:01 PM »
look at your motherboard's manual and see if it offers some options for overclocking.
Make yourself heard
Portable Strobist Kit for Rent!
Includes: 2in1 shoot thru/reflective umbrella, lightstand, RF trigger/receiver, 8pcs AA sanyo eneloop, nissin di622, gel filters