Author Topic: 8k3a lockups especially in 3d gaming and opengl  (Read 8503 times)

Offline mNv

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 22
8k3a lockups especially in 3d gaming and opengl
« on: May 16, 2002, 07:02:00 PM »
naghahang 8k3a mobo ko when playing 3d games and opengl.  The problem is not in my nvidia driver(28.32), not on the pci latency, I reformatted it several times, still my computer locks after 30 minutes or so.  I found many people in the US na may kapareho

Offline richie

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 391
8k3a lockups especially in 3d gaming and opengl
« Reply #1 on: May 16, 2002, 07:22:25 PM »
what's your video card?
Intel G620, Asrock H61M,  4Gb Apacer ddr3, WD 500gb, Seagate 320Gb, Hitachi 500Gb, Hec 500w, Coolermaster 341

Offline mNv

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 22
8k3a lockups especially in 3d gaming and opengl
« Reply #2 on: May 16, 2002, 07:32:25 PM »
Geforce 2 MX 200

Offline richie

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 391
8k3a lockups especially in 3d gaming and opengl
« Reply #3 on: May 16, 2002, 07:34:01 PM »
via 4-in-1 driver version? bios?
Intel G620, Asrock H61M,  4Gb Apacer ddr3, WD 500gb, Seagate 320Gb, Hitachi 500Gb, Hec 500w, Coolermaster 341

Offline mNv

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 22
8k3a lockups especially in 3d gaming and opengl
« Reply #4 on: May 16, 2002, 07:39:30 PM »
tried 4.37a, 4.38 BIOS: 2328

Offline dean

  • Administrator
  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3566
    • http://www.pinoypc.net
8k3a lockups especially in 3d gaming and opengl
« Reply #5 on: May 16, 2002, 07:57:27 PM »
heat problem?

i dunno....i never had any single lockup even when i was running my system at 183mhz fsb (366).  there must be something wrong with your configuration or installation.

set the memory timings to normal, 6-3-3-2.5, turn off 4-way
Make yourself heard
Portable Strobist Kit for Rent!
Includes: 2in1 shoot thru/reflective umbrella, lightstand, RF trigger/receiver, 8pcs AA sanyo eneloop, nissin di622, gel filters

Offline dean

  • Administrator
  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3566
    • http://www.pinoypc.net
8k3a lockups especially in 3d gaming and opengl
« Reply #6 on: May 16, 2002, 07:58:09 PM »
but it doesn't hang in non-3d applications, right?  it works fine when you're browsing and just listening to mp3's i guess...
Make yourself heard
Portable Strobist Kit for Rent!
Includes: 2in1 shoot thru/reflective umbrella, lightstand, RF trigger/receiver, 8pcs AA sanyo eneloop, nissin di622, gel filters

Offline spolarium

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 0
8k3a lockups especially in 3d gaming and opengl
« Reply #7 on: May 16, 2002, 08:18:35 PM »
What's your DirectX version?  Update all your drivers and if still unstable go to the lower version of the your vid card drivers.

jagc1

  • Guest
8k3a lockups especially in 3d gaming and opengl
« Reply #8 on: May 16, 2002, 09:17:57 PM »
Are you using the on-board sound or a sound card?  If you're using a sound card like SB Live or Audigy, make sure you insert it in a pci slot that doesn't share IRQs with any other slot

Offline popo

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 149
8k3a lockups especially in 3d gaming and opengl
« Reply #9 on: May 16, 2002, 10:12:37 PM »
what's ur cpu temp?
how fast is your cpu fan 7200+ rpm?
you might want to add hsf fans in your chassis.



Offline mNv

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 22
8k3a lockups especially in 3d gaming and opengl
« Reply #10 on: May 16, 2002, 10:48:17 PM »
It doesn't hang in applications or normal day to day windows... only when I'm playing mechcommander 2, dungeon siege, heroes IV and other 3D hungry gameZ.

My DX Version, of course 8.1, I just formatted my computer 30 minutes ago, and INSTALL all of

Offline BeoR

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 76
8k3a lockups especially in 3d gaming and opengl
« Reply #11 on: May 16, 2002, 10:49:06 PM »
did you put a PCI device on PCI Slot #1 (beside AGP Slot)? if yes, move it to the next slot and leave slot #1 free... how many PCI devices do you have?

Offline mNv

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 22
8k3a lockups especially in 3d gaming and opengl
« Reply #12 on: May 16, 2002, 11:01:54 PM »
I have to PCI devices namely, modem and lan and it is located at 4th & 6th PCI slot respectively.  FAR FAR AWAY from the AGP.

Ito na buong system ko... hindi kaya power supply problem ko... using a 300watt and sabi nila enough na daw yun.

CA

Offline dean

  • Administrator
  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3566
    • http://www.pinoypc.net
8k3a lockups especially in 3d gaming and opengl
« Reply #13 on: May 16, 2002, 11:21:20 PM »
i used an athlon thunderbird for that 183mhz fsb.

question...what are you running your memory at?  133mhz DDR or 166mhz DDR?
Make yourself heard
Portable Strobist Kit for Rent!
Includes: 2in1 shoot thru/reflective umbrella, lightstand, RF trigger/receiver, 8pcs AA sanyo eneloop, nissin di622, gel filters

Offline richie

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 391
8k3a lockups especially in 3d gaming and opengl
« Reply #14 on: May 17, 2002, 12:33:48 AM »
look in this thread, hope they can help you with your problem:
http://www.amdmb.com/vb/showthread.php?s=fc1d66d00d2bca605f2900c55ba63cc3&threadid=122883
Intel G620, Asrock H61M,  4Gb Apacer ddr3, WD 500gb, Seagate 320Gb, Hitachi 500Gb, Hec 500w, Coolermaster 341

Offline R.schumacher

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 63
    • http://www.4bisonline.tk
8k3a lockups especially in 3d gaming and opengl
« Reply #15 on: May 17, 2002, 05:08:14 AM »
try the 2403,2410 and 2415 bios. 2410 works fine with me! 2403 also addresses the 135-165 fsb problem. try it.
Whatever you do, do it for the glory of God.

Offline mNv

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 22
8k3a lockups especially in 3d gaming and opengl
« Reply #16 on: May 17, 2002, 06:13:25 AM »
Ey Richie, I have already read the forum, thinking I could find the solution.  Unfortunately, wala, sinasuggest lang nila PCI latency patch, at BIOS updates.  My memory is a 133Mhz DDR, dba kasi DDR266Mhz.  Dba and 166Mhz eh, DDR333Mhz.  Nway, sa turbo se

Offline spolarium

  • Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 0
8k3a lockups especially in 3d gaming and opengl
« Reply #17 on: May 17, 2002, 07:12:07 AM »
"hindi ko inistall yung AGPVxD..."

Why?  Sometimes installing this may help video card problems/lockups.

Offline mNv

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 22
8k3a lockups especially in 3d gaming and opengl
« Reply #18 on: May 17, 2002, 08:39:11 AM »
Eh, i think nung inuninstall ko, medyo naprolong yung game ko, pero I experience na lumalabas sa WINDOWS.

  Ey, ppl, IM NOT EXPERIENCING LOCKUPS ANYMORE, and my gaming time has improved (prolonged) PERO lumalabas sa WINDOWS, pero after mga 1:15hr,

Offline mNv

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 22
8k3a lockups especially in 3d gaming and opengl
« Reply #19 on: May 17, 2002, 08:41:40 AM »
They say that PCI interfere too much with KT266 KT333 etc chipsets, and setting it to 64 latency will improve stability.  Do u think I could set it to 128 or 96 or above 64 to totally stabilize my GAMING??  I don't care if the PCI's crawl and beg for spee