Author Topic: tony's dual power supply f.a.q's  (Read 57255 times)

Offline dta

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 3273
tony's dual power supply f.a.q's
« Reply #20 on: May 28, 2003, 05:02:42 PM »
Do you have any suggested line conditioners -- I suppose these also have wattage ratings or the like?

Offline [JaNuS]

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 67
tony's dual power supply f.a.q's
« Reply #21 on: May 28, 2003, 06:44:07 PM »
can you post pics and illustrations on how to do these... wala akong alam sa electronics eh...

CoreXP

  • Guest
tony's dual power supply f.a.q's
« Reply #22 on: May 28, 2003, 11:31:39 PM »
how bout this: dati 2 PSU setup ko, 1 350W Dynamo sa mobo and the rest (drives, fans, etc) powered na ng Delta 180W PSU. I've noticed lang na ang +5v rail ko ay naglalaro sa 4.55v ~ 4.78v w/ random re-boots. I've decided to remove the 180W PSU and back sa 1 PSU setup (handled by the 350W Dynamo), then suddendly bet. 4.75v ~ 4.91v na +5v ko, wala na rin random re-boots, though, I was forced to set my CPU clock to 2.2GHz @ 1.5v (180x10) kasi, kahit anong gawin ko, di mahandle nung PSU ko ang 2GHz+ w/ GF4 Ti4200 64MB.

joan2

  • Guest
tony's dual power supply f.a.q's
« Reply #23 on: May 29, 2003, 10:10:33 AM »
dta,

sola basic, topaz, are brand names of line conditioners i don't know if locally available, we used to order our's from sunnyvale, calif...way back when i was still working for amd phils., as an electronics workshop supervisor....

 

JaNuS,

kung wala kang alam sa electronics, then i suggest that you don't attemp to do this, because the voltages involved can be lethal and you might put yourself at risk,



CoreXP,

Dynamo 350W psu is not an overclocking psu from what you have just mentioned, but with voltage tweaking the 5volt rail to say 5.25v maybe you can overclock, i said maybe, i have yet to see the inside of the dynamo psu...those out there with deffective dynamo 350w psu may loan me one so i can have a look see the insides...

it is hard for me to comment on your dual psu setup since i do not know how you actually implemented it, your main atx psu connected to the mobo is the one being monitored, so i can not see how the second psu affected the readings , unless at some point your 5volt rail from the maint atx connected with the 5volt rail of the delta 180watt psu, in this case it is possible to get lower reading....

magistrate

  • Guest
tony's dual power supply f.a.q's
« Reply #24 on: May 29, 2003, 11:28:09 AM »
<a bit OT>

sir tony,

have you ever opened a I-cute psu? what was your impression about its quality?

Takao

  • Guest
tony's dual power supply f.a.q's
« Reply #25 on: May 29, 2003, 11:36:44 AM »
@joan2



Sir, magpapa-modz ako sa yo ng PSU to CDROM by next month(may xtra PSU ako at sirang cdrom), pano kaya cooler nun at pwede ba sya sabay mag-ON ng main PSU, pag-ON ng main power switch?

joan2

  • Guest
tony's dual power supply f.a.q's
« Reply #26 on: May 29, 2003, 01:11:51 PM »
magistrate,

yes i have seen an icute, 350w and a 300watt, layout is same as that of a hec350w but the components used are obviously inferior, lightweight...i had this icute350w psu that can not boot an athlon700 slot a on an aopen ak72 mobo...whereas a forepoint psu of same wattage booted the setup succesfully...



takao,

the way the 2nd psu operates is to integrate with the main psu, meaning only one power cable is connected to the wall, you turn on your system just as before, but then you have the option to have hsf fans running even before you on your rig, this means cooling still remains even after you ahve powered down your cpu....

Offline [JaNuS]

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 67
tony's dual power supply f.a.q's
« Reply #27 on: May 29, 2003, 03:06:20 PM »
puwede bang magpagawa ng 2nd psu?yung cdrom mod.how much at saan ang location?

joan2

  • Guest
tony's dual power supply f.a.q's
« Reply #28 on: May 29, 2003, 05:12:26 PM »
[JanuS] you can call me at 6438957 for more info...thanks

CoreXP

  • Guest
tony's dual power supply f.a.q's
« Reply #29 on: May 30, 2003, 11:38:24 AM »
joan2: those readings were taken from the (Dynamo350) PSU connected on the mobo.

Offline nhald

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
tony's dual power supply f.a.q's
« Reply #30 on: May 30, 2003, 11:56:53 AM »
joan2,



wala pa po ba yung hinihingi kong fax? nangangati na kasi kamay ko para gawin yun, e. hehehe.



question lang po ulit. yun po bang cdrom psu nyo e direct conversion lang from regular psu meaning wala ng modifications sa laman ng regular psu? inilipat lang sya ng ibang cdrom case. sinukat ko kasi yung laman ng isang psu ko, kasya naman sa cdrom case except of course the fan. =)

joan2

  • Guest
tony's dual power supply f.a.q's
« Reply #31 on: May 30, 2003, 04:17:37 PM »
nhald,

you shall have your fax by monday, yung at psu inililipat lang sa cd rom casing, meaning you have to chop off the heatsink to fit....



[/img][/url]

Offline nhald

  • Semi-Newbie
  • *
  • Posts: 5
tony's dual power supply f.a.q's
« Reply #32 on: June 02, 2003, 10:37:49 AM »
tnx! ma-try ko na rin!

joan2

  • Guest
tony's dual power supply f.a.q's
« Reply #33 on: June 02, 2003, 05:35:53 PM »
nhald,

good luck, please report the result here, thanks...

Offline [JaNuS]

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 67
tony's dual power supply f.a.q's
« Reply #34 on: June 02, 2003, 08:43:54 PM »
send me your cell phone number joan2... +639178489487

Online barurutor

  • Moderators
  • Member
  • *
  • Posts: 3498
  • The Truth Shall Make Ye Fret.
tony's dual power supply f.a.q's
« Reply #35 on: June 02, 2003, 09:54:49 PM »
um, pwede kayong mag private-messaging para di masyadong mapuno yung thread ng off-topic messages.
<insert witty saying or hobby specs here>

joan2

  • Guest
tony's dual power supply f.a.q's
« Reply #36 on: June 03, 2003, 05:24:19 PM »
10-4 mr barurator...thanks

Offline dta

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 3273
tony's dual power supply f.a.q's
« Reply #37 on: June 12, 2003, 09:16:59 PM »
pardon my curiosity. Thread title is "tony's dual power supply f.a.q's" -- are you "tony"?



BTW, how would you rate a PSU that has these ratings (on the PSU label):

+5v: 30A

+12v: 12A

-5v: 0.5A

-12V: 0.8A

+3.3v: 14A

+5VSB: 1A



+5 & +3.3 total output 160w

output 300watt max



Would it run an Athlon XP 2400+ TBred-B? What if we add 256MB DDR333, GF4 Ti4200, CDRW drive, DVD-ROM drive and mobo has built-in sound chipset/LAN/Firewire.

joan2

  • Guest
tony's dual power supply f.a.q's
« Reply #38 on: June 13, 2003, 09:05:20 AM »
dta,

yes, i am tony, do not ask me how i get the name joan2, it is very personal.....

the ratings you posted are for a typical atx12 spec for a 300watt psu, whether the psu can deliver or not is another thing, as i have said many times, labeling is easy, delivering is the question....

as fas as psu's are concerned, i have verified that a "Pentium IV" from the tornado casing can power up a geforce4ti video card/athlonxp2000+ combo in a dual psu setup....a 300 watt psu from "logic" failed...so to answer your question, yes it can run your load, but if you add more pheriperals, then a second psu is indicated.....

Offline dta

  • Member
  • **
  • Posts: 3273
tony's dual power supply f.a.q's
« Reply #39 on: June 13, 2003, 09:37:02 AM »
I see, thanks for your answer.



BTW, how would you know that the above "ratings" is from a typical atx12 300watt PSU -- do branded ones (eg Enermax, HEC) have a rating that's significantly different from the above "generic" PSU provided they're the same 300watts?